Brazilian Cheese Bread (Pao de Queijo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This recipe was awesome! When I told my husband (who introduced me to Pao de Queijo) that someone had complained that it was chewy, he said, "that's the way it supposed to be!" I made it exactly like the recipe (used the butter instead of olive oil) for our Easter Dinner and he could not stop oohing and ahing about them. The only complaint he had was that they were TOO big! He said that the ones he's had have been about a 1/3 of that size. He thought that a 2" scooper would have been the perfect size. I will make these again and again! Quick Tip: Want to make sure that this sticky batter comes out of your scooper with ease? Spray the inside of the scoop with Pam and they'll just slide right out in nice round balls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I made these as a Passover treat, and they are quite delicious! I used olive oil and parmesan. The only change was to use about 1/4 tsp garlic powder in place of the minced garlic, and to make the balls smaller (about ping-pong ball size). This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This recipe makes GREAT pao de queijo! The only thing is it ends up a bit greasy- maybe because of the amount of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Novice Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Turned out good, however, I almost didn't continue after adding the tapioca flour and garlic. It said to mix until smooth and it immediately got thick and tough to mix (as though I didn't add enough liquid). I used butter (not oil) and will add a little additional milk next time. Since I was working with the consistency of a moist dough ball after adding the eggs and cheese, I made round balls and put them on a cookie sheet and had to bake approx. 25 min. They cooked the same size and shape as they were placed on the sheet. They were a bit gooey on the inside but fully cooked so I think they turned out as intended. I just had a hard time with what I expected when mixing and what actually happened. I'm glad I stuck with it and cooked them anyway. You could definitely taste the garlic, so eliminate it if you don't want the extra richness. Others had mentioned the mix being too thin? Since mine was just the opposite, I can only assume that using oil instead of butter may be the only factor that could have made the difference. Regardless, my husband and I liked them and my 15 year old couldn't stop eating them (and they were the size of large meatballs!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Not a bad recipe, but nothing can replace the cheese which is used in Brazil. "Queijo Minas" is a white, salty cheese. The secret "Pao de Queijo" is the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Very much like Yoki Bread mix that I buy in the Latin food aisle in the grocery, supposedly a taste of Colombia I think. They are rubbery and very strong cheese flavor, supposed to be that way, made with tapioca starch. Look for it in your store, I live in FL where there is a heavy south american influence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe! For anyone eating gluten-free, this gives a wonderful, flavorful bread that is not grainy and doesn't fall apart. The texture is unique and addictive! My whole family loves it. It freezes well and is almost like fresh when you heat it a FEW seconds in the microwave. My whole family loves this! I vary the amount of garlic depending on what a batch will be used for. I also switch from Parmesan to Motzarella from time to time. I also use half olive oil and half butter to cut down on the butter content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
From reading reviews, I understand that the rubbery texture is correct. However, it's just too different for me. We didn't like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This has become the backbone of my gluten free breads. I substitute 1/2 cup sorghum flour with the tapioca flour, add fennel seed, and switch between parm. cheese and sharp cheddar as the mood strikes me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
delicious! wonderful texture and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States