Brazilian Cheese Bread (Pao de Queijo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
These were perfect! Nice and chewy on the inside just like our favorite Brazilian restaurant. Followed the recipe exactly with the exception of adding a little mozz cheese also. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
This is the best recipe i've used to far! I would like to point out a few things to those who've had bad results: 1) heat the water/oil/milk to boiling then the tapioca will seize. 2) when it says to mix till smooth, think more like 10 mins + by hand or use a dough hook on a stand mixer for 3-4 mins...that will help the texture & the air bubbles form. 3) try a mix of parm & queso fresco for a nicer texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Was delicious! Used butter per reviews from the Brazilians. Everything else I followed. I did make sure all the clumps of powder were gone before I baked it. It wasn't at all watery like some other reviews said. I was worried about that, and put each scoop in a mini muffin pan, but I think that made the bread more dense, and not as round. Hard to stop eating. Be careful. ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Made again...this time using grapeseed oil and mozzarella cheese. Fantastic. Also I found that if you pour the hot oil/milk/water mixture into a bowl that has the tapioca flour in it already it's much easier to mix. Also only used 1 tsp of minced garlic. Also used my hands when adding egg and cheese. They turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fletcher, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
AMAZING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This recipe was awesome! When I told my husband (who introduced me to Pao de Queijo) that someone had complained that it was chewy, he said, "that's the way it supposed to be!" I made it exactly like the recipe (used the butter instead of olive oil) for our Easter Dinner and he could not stop oohing and ahing about them. The only complaint he had was that they were TOO big! He said that the ones he's had have been about a 1/3 of that size. He thought that a 2" scooper would have been the perfect size. I will make these again and again! Quick Tip: Want to make sure that this sticky batter comes out of your scooper with ease? Spray the inside of the scoop with Pam and they'll just slide right out in nice round balls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I made these as a Passover treat, and they are quite delicious! I used olive oil and parmesan. The only change was to use about 1/4 tsp garlic powder in place of the minced garlic, and to make the balls smaller (about ping-pong ball size). This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This recipe makes GREAT pao de queijo! The only thing is it ends up a bit greasy- maybe because of the amount of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Novice Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Turned out good, however, I almost didn't continue after adding the tapioca flour and garlic. It said to mix until smooth and it immediately got thick and tough to mix (as though I didn't add enough liquid). I used butter (not oil) and will add a little additional milk next time. Since I was working with the consistency of a moist dough ball after adding the eggs and cheese, I made round balls and put them on a cookie sheet and had to bake approx. 25 min. They cooked the same size and shape as they were placed on the sheet. They were a bit gooey on the inside but fully cooked so I think they turned out as intended. I just had a hard time with what I expected when mixing and what actually happened. I'm glad I stuck with it and cooked them anyway. You could definitely taste the garlic, so eliminate it if you don't want the extra richness. Others had mentioned the mix being too thin? Since mine was just the opposite, I can only assume that using oil instead of butter may be the only factor that could have made the difference. Regardless, my husband and I liked them and my 15 year old couldn't stop eating them (and they were the size of large meatballs!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Not a bad recipe, but nothing can replace the cheese which is used in Brazil. "Queijo Minas" is a white, salty cheese. The secret "Pao de Queijo" is the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States