Brazilian Cheese Bread (Pao de Queijo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
TOO MUCH OIL/BUTTER!!!! I made this recipe twice today; 1st- to the letter, 2nd- using less butter and adapting the recipe as follows: 1) Shredded Mozarella Cheese (1 & 1/2 C.) plus Grated Parmesan & Romano blend (1/3 C.) 2) 1/4 C. butter 3) No garlic My Brazilian husband approved! I will say, this recipe uses too much oil BUT the flavor and texture are good. Nice recipe to play with! Thank you SO MUCH for sharing! Now I don't have to go the Brazilian market and spend tons of $$ on ingredients. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I previously tried different recipe with 3 ingredients and dough was runny as some of you describing, but still baked well. This recipe made nice dough, great taste. I kind of dont understand how people got it watery, if you put tapioca powder into hot liquid mixture, it thickens right away and 2 eggs can't make it runny. I used twice as much cheese (monterey jack) and turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I'm from Brazil and we love cheese bread. I'm not a good cook and I was afraid of trying this recipe but I confess it surprised me! It is easy to make and DELICIOUS!!!! You have to eat it hot though or it will taste like "rubber" when it cools off. Make sure you let the milk boil and then you add the flour. Mix very well, around 10 min until it looks like "couscous". I mixed 1 cup (or more) of Mexican cheese blend and it was fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Didn't make this with garlic. Tried it with a mini muffin pan and on just a baking sheet. Either way they puffed up just fine but held a more uniform shape with the muffin pan. Delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I lived in Brazil for several years and thought I would never again enjoy the real taste of pao de queijo. I assumed it was some super complicated grandma's secret with ingredients we don't have in the US. I was wrong. It took me four grocery stores, but I found the tapioca flour, and these turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
made it exactly as the recipe says minus, the garlic, and came out perfect and delicious, crispy on the outside, soft on the inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I grew up in Brazil. This is a great recipe but has one significant problem. The ingredients really need to be put into a blender, as the Brazilians do. Otherwise it is difficult for the ingredients to properly incorporate and you may find that your oil or butter does not adhere, but leaks out into the pan. Other than this I would give the recipe five stars. It is also simpler to mix in a blender, and you do not have to heat ingredients in a pan first. If you try substituting cheeses other than parmesan, make sure to use a dry cheese. Something moist like mozarella will not give the same result. I hope this helps someone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I made these because my granddaughter eats gluten-free. However everyone likes them so much, they are now a regular menu item when the family comes over. They like them small and crunchy, so I have found that baking them in small muffin tins works out perfectly. Also, I bake them until well browned. They are delicious warm. I also add shredded cheddar cheese instead of parmesan, and sometimes I add chopped spinach as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
These are crispy on the outside, chewy in the middle, and a great vehicle for loads of butter. Most cheeses that can be shredded will work in the recipe, though the chewiness/dryness ratio in the final product varies depending on the type you use. With a newly developed gluten sensitivity and a longstanding passion for baking, I was ecstatic to find a no-hassle recipe that's so much like an English muffin, but even faster to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenica Sherman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I was dismayed that when I added the tapioca starch, a lot of the oil separated out, so I put it in an electric mixer and that made it better...although I suspect it doesn't matter. We absolutely loved these rolls, and it works fine to use garlic powder (1/4 tsp.) and parmesan cheese in a can, if you need to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States