Brazilian Cheese Bread (Pao de Queijo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I had high hopes for this recipe, but it just didn't turn out well. I know it's supposed to be "gummy" in the middle, etc, but that's all it was. I expected it to be a little more risen and puffy than so dense. Next time will let it rest longer. Also, it doesn't have near enough cheese. It had no cheese flavor with just the 2/3 cup, next time I will add almost a cup. Last problem was the mixture was too thin, so when I rolled into balls and put on baking tray, they just spread out into pools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by akaRibeiro
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This recipe was great! My husband is Brazilian from Minas Gerais and he thought this was so delicious. Just a couple of modifications: even though we LOVE garlic, it really doesn't need to go in the bread. It would have been better without. Could use a tad bit more salt. Also, a lot of other people said to reduce the oil, so we put 1/3 cup olive oil instead of 1/2 cup. They chewy or "rubbery" texture of them is completely normal and is how they are supposed to be. I may add a little mozzarella cheese or Brazilian cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rehoboth Beach, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Too greasy and flat. Will be looking for a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
very nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ai Vy Nguyen
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
The bread turn out so good. My boyfriend said it taste like from the restaurant. The only thing I changed was adding a tablespoon of sugar and it still turn out a little salty. So I cannot imagine how it would turn out if I did not add any sugar. Over all good recipe. I would definitely make it again pretty soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I made the balls slightly larger and mixed half butter half oil. They came out perfect! This time im going to try and reduce the oils and sub water for a tiny bit less guilt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
TOO MUCH OIL/BUTTER!!!! I made this recipe twice today; 1st- to the letter, 2nd- using less butter and adapting the recipe as follows: 1) Shredded Mozarella Cheese (1 & 1/2 C.) plus Grated Parmesan & Romano blend (1/3 C.) 2) 1/4 C. butter 3) No garlic My Brazilian husband approved! I will say, this recipe uses too much oil BUT the flavor and texture are good. Nice recipe to play with! Thank you SO MUCH for sharing! Now I don't have to go the Brazilian market and spend tons of $$ on ingredients. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I previously tried different recipe with 3 ingredients and dough was runny as some of you describing, but still baked well. This recipe made nice dough, great taste. I kind of dont understand how people got it watery, if you put tapioca powder into hot liquid mixture, it thickens right away and 2 eggs can't make it runny. I used twice as much cheese (monterey jack) and turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I'm from Brazil and we love cheese bread. I'm not a good cook and I was afraid of trying this recipe but I confess it surprised me! It is easy to make and DELICIOUS!!!! You have to eat it hot though or it will taste like "rubber" when it cools off. Make sure you let the milk boil and then you add the flour. Mix very well, around 10 min until it looks like "couscous". I mixed 1 cup (or more) of Mexican cheese blend and it was fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Didn't make this with garlic. Tried it with a mini muffin pan and on just a baking sheet. Either way they puffed up just fine but held a more uniform shape with the muffin pan. Delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States