Brazilian Cheese Bread (Pao de Queijo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Ai Vy Nguyen
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
The bread turn out so good. My boyfriend said it taste like from the restaurant. The only thing I changed was adding a tablespoon of sugar and it still turn out a little salty. So I cannot imagine how it would turn out if I did not add any sugar. Over all good recipe. I would definitely make it again pretty soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I made the balls slightly larger and mixed half butter half oil. They came out perfect! This time im going to try and reduce the oils and sub water for a tiny bit less guilt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
TOO MUCH OIL/BUTTER!!!! I made this recipe twice today; 1st- to the letter, 2nd- using less butter and adapting the recipe as follows: 1) Shredded Mozarella Cheese (1 & 1/2 C.) plus Grated Parmesan & Romano blend (1/3 C.) 2) 1/4 C. butter 3) No garlic My Brazilian husband approved! I will say, this recipe uses too much oil BUT the flavor and texture are good. Nice recipe to play with! Thank you SO MUCH for sharing! Now I don't have to go the Brazilian market and spend tons of $$ on ingredients. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I previously tried different recipe with 3 ingredients and dough was runny as some of you describing, but still baked well. This recipe made nice dough, great taste. I kind of dont understand how people got it watery, if you put tapioca powder into hot liquid mixture, it thickens right away and 2 eggs can't make it runny. I used twice as much cheese (monterey jack) and turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I'm from Brazil and we love cheese bread. I'm not a good cook and I was afraid of trying this recipe but I confess it surprised me! It is easy to make and DELICIOUS!!!! You have to eat it hot though or it will taste like "rubber" when it cools off. Make sure you let the milk boil and then you add the flour. Mix very well, around 10 min until it looks like "couscous". I mixed 1 cup (or more) of Mexican cheese blend and it was fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Didn't make this with garlic. Tried it with a mini muffin pan and on just a baking sheet. Either way they puffed up just fine but held a more uniform shape with the muffin pan. Delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I lived in Brazil for several years and thought I would never again enjoy the real taste of pao de queijo. I assumed it was some super complicated grandma's secret with ingredients we don't have in the US. I was wrong. It took me four grocery stores, but I found the tapioca flour, and these turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
made it exactly as the recipe says minus, the garlic, and came out perfect and delicious, crispy on the outside, soft on the inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I grew up in Brazil. This is a great recipe but has one significant problem. The ingredients really need to be put into a blender, as the Brazilians do. Otherwise it is difficult for the ingredients to properly incorporate and you may find that your oil or butter does not adhere, but leaks out into the pan. Other than this I would give the recipe five stars. It is also simpler to mix in a blender, and you do not have to heat ingredients in a pan first. If you try substituting cheeses other than parmesan, make sure to use a dry cheese. Something moist like mozarella will not give the same result. I hope this helps someone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I made these because my granddaughter eats gluten-free. However everyone likes them so much, they are now a regular menu item when the family comes over. They like them small and crunchy, so I have found that baking them in small muffin tins works out perfectly. Also, I bake them until well browned. They are delicious warm. I also add shredded cheddar cheese instead of parmesan, and sometimes I add chopped spinach as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States