Braided Easter Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2001
Great bread, flavorfull and lots of fun. Its great to serve at the table and surprise your guest! Fun and family friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
I made this bread years ago - it was great and people are always impressed by how the colored eggs bake with the bread. I lost the recipe - it's so good to find it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
This is the recipe I have been searching for. It tastes just like the Easter breads available in fine Italian bakeries in NYC. Very easy to prepare. The delicately sweet flavor and light fluffy texture of the bread is irresistable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
My mother's aunt makes this bread but will not part with the recipe. So my mother and her sister have tried for years to duplicate this bread. Imagine my mother's surprise when she came to my house for Easter this year, and I served this bread! I have given her the recipe and she is so hapy! Thank you, Holly, for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
Outstanding! What a good bread. I haven't made homemade bread in oh-so-many years. Eggs baked up well, right inside the bread braids; only negative is that the food coloring leaked into the bread a bit. Bread didn't need the whole baking time and I ended up adding about a 1/4C more flour than the recipe called for. And it turned out so good! Golden brown, very slightly sweet, didn't even need butter. This will become a tradition now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
My family and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mantua, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
This bread is delicious and very attractive. I made it without the decorative eggs. For my oven, the baking time was just 25 minutes (not 55 minutes as recommended) for a lovely, golden bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
This was wonderful. Oven-time was 25 minutes. I used Splenda instead of sugar. I'm new to bread baking and in the past, have had trouble-overworked dough etc, so was thrilled when this turned out well and airy! Thank you! I am giving this a five because of the recipes I have used and followed, yours was the only one that did not estimate total flour and that, I believe is just one of the reasons this turned out for me. This recipe instructed me to trust my senses in judgeing what would be just enough flour and not too much. I was very nervous about not knowing how much to use at first but in the end-it's all good. It would have been nice to read 2-1/2"+" cups...being that I'm new at this. ps: I sprayed it with butter and sprinkled on sesame and poppy seeds before baking. I did not place the eggs in the dough this time but will come Easter. Thanks again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
Excellent recipe and easy to follow. I substituted 1/2 cup sugar for extra sweetness and baked for 1/2 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Thank You Holly for your recipe! It went over great today at the Easter Party. My daughter made this. She baked it for only 15 minutes, removed the eggs since it was doughy around them and cooked the bread five more minutes. She only used 4 eggs. If your not thrilled with the idea of baked eggs you can always make sure there is room for them on the bread and add colored easter egss after the bread is baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States