Braided Easter Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Airbornemama
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I think the recipe is wonderful. However, I had a really hard time rolling the dough to make the desired two lengths to braid the bread with. I'm sure it was something I did wrong. Perhaps I didn't let it rise long enough, I don't know. My Easter Braided bread turned out to look like an Easter Python. Please see attached photo and don't laugh. I'm still bringing it to Easter dinner this evening. Have a wonderful Easter :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Airbornemama
Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I made this as written.... OK... I had to add more flour; about 3/4 cup more all together. But it turned out great. I didn't really get bleeding from the colored eggs after I put a thin coat of olive oil on them prior to placing them in the dough. I glazed with a powdered sugar/orange juice glaze. I think it turned out pretty great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikeswastedtime

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This is the first time that I have made bread. It came out beautiful. I washed the eggs and put them into the bread before dying them. Once the bread was done, I dyed the eggs and put them back into the holes I created with the eggs. I would suggest putting a little bit of egg whites on top to make the bread look shiny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Excellent! Made this for a friend of mine For Easter and They loved it! Nice and soft and fluffy it tasted Amazing and super simple to make..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I put anise favoring in and it is dELISH !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This recipe is wonderful. I have made it as is, added cinnamon, raisins etc. for hot cross buns, made loaves and braids. Always terrific. I have found consistently that the baking time is far too long. The recipe as is makes one very large loaf and took about 30 min to bake. Divided into 2 smaller loaves or into buns you would need to adjust time accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marykevinaz
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Good recipe. I made this last year for Good Friday. I added slivered almonds and golden raisins. When it was still warm I put some vanilla frosting and sprinkles on top. I am going to make this again on Good Friday this year. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marykevinaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Okay, so i wanted to make a easy bread today just for fun and it turned out great. I use about 1/4 cup more of flour, only 1 egg, 1/2 tbsp more butter, and 1 tsp more milk. I am not sure if my oven cooks faster but the bread only took 23 minutes. I also did not use the eggs on top of the bread. After I brushed the butter on top of the bread I sprinkled sugar on top for a nice twist. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I was pretty nervous to try this recipe, as I had never made homemade bread before. However, it turned out WONDERFULLY! It was extremely soft on the inside, and nicely browned on the outside. I took this to the office since my husband and I couldn't eat it all ourselves, and everyone loved it. I'll be bringing this to my family's Easter dinner in the future!! Thank you marbalet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Beloit, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
i had to add almost an extra cup of flour to create a dough for kneading. and cooked for 23 minutes instead of the stated 50-55 minutes. otherwise everything was fine. i will try adding another egg and more sugar next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colette
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States