Braided Easter Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Adding the yeast to a saucepan and heating it with the milk, butter and a cup of flour is bad advice for beginner bread bakers. The chance of killing the yeast is much too great. Don't really know what is accomplished by that first step. You could do the same thing by gently heating the milk in the microwave to 110 degrees or less, and proceeding with the dough making process. Scalding pasteurized milk is not always helpful or necessary. Depending on your oven, this bread should be baked to 200 degree internal temperature in 40 to 45 minutes. A digital thermometer is an excellent tool for the home baker to have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I think this recipe is great! I do not bake bread a lot but this one was very easy. I added extra flour because it was sticky and I only baked it for 28 minutes. I will be making this again. Thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I tried this recipe several times, and now at last I can really say I got the magic of it, I urge anyone to try it, it is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
It has become a tradition now for me to make this for our Easter dinner. The bread has just the right amount of sweetness and it looks wonderful with the dyed eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
This bread came out sooooo good, moist and soft. The eggs cook well too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I am not a baker by any means, but I try. Sometimes my baked goodies turn out and sometimes they just don't. :) While this ended up being fine in the end, it took a lot of elbow grease (and two tries) to get it there. In the interest of saving some time, I used my bread machine's basic dough setting for kneading and the first rise cycle. Initially, my dough seemed pretty wet but I figured it would eventually come together. It didn't. I had to make a second batch of dough and stop my bread machine multiple times to scrape the sides in order for my flour to mix thoroughly with the wet ingredients. When it was time to braid my loaf of bread, I also had problems. I'm not sure how anyone managed to get TWO, 3 ft. long, 1 1/2 in. wide ropes out of this amount of dough! I ended up making 2 smaller (1 ft., 1 1/2 in.) ropes and braiding them into a loaf instead of a wreath shape. My dough didn't seem to rise much either (2nd rise), but I continued on. Although aesthetically pleasing, my loaf was quite dense (but this didn't seem to bother those who ate it!). Other than my eggs sticking to the bread (it was impossible to remove them), I was pleased with the outcome. I'm not sure why my eggs stuck to the bread, but being that I only ended up using 3 of them, it wasn't a big deal. I was just glad they didn't bleed onto my dough! All in all, this was a fun project, but I'm not sure I'd go out of my way to attempt making this again. Thanks anyways, Marbalet. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This was okay.. It had an odd taste to it, so I wonder if I had done something wrong.. Everyone at the table ate some, so it wasn't a waste, but it was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I made this for Easter and everyone loved it! I didn't use eggs to decorate. Instead I braided the dough into a fancy looking bun. I had to add more flour to it because it was really runny (like 1 cup more), but it turned out awesome and I will make it again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
The bread was fun to make, but it was too dry cooked for 27 minutes. I took it out of the oven at 20 an brushed it with more butter and put it back in for 7 minutes. If I hadn't put it back in it would have been perfect. I made 3 rolls, as I wanted to braid them together. It tasted pretty good and it was fun to make, just too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
nade it for the first time for my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States