Braided Easter Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
It has become a tradition now for me to make this for our Easter dinner. The bread has just the right amount of sweetness and it looks wonderful with the dyed eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
This bread came out sooooo good, moist and soft. The eggs cook well too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I am not a baker by any means, but I try. Sometimes my baked goodies turn out and sometimes they just don't. :) While this ended up being fine in the end, it took a lot of elbow grease (and two tries) to get it there. In the interest of saving some time, I used my bread machine's basic dough setting for kneading and the first rise cycle. Initially, my dough seemed pretty wet but I figured it would eventually come together. It didn't. I had to make a second batch of dough and stop my bread machine multiple times to scrape the sides in order for my flour to mix thoroughly with the wet ingredients. When it was time to braid my loaf of bread, I also had problems. I'm not sure how anyone managed to get TWO, 3 ft. long, 1 1/2 in. wide ropes out of this amount of dough! I ended up making 2 smaller (1 ft., 1 1/2 in.) ropes and braiding them into a loaf instead of a wreath shape. My dough didn't seem to rise much either (2nd rise), but I continued on. Although aesthetically pleasing, my loaf was quite dense (but this didn't seem to bother those who ate it!). Other than my eggs sticking to the bread (it was impossible to remove them), I was pleased with the outcome. I'm not sure why my eggs stuck to the bread, but being that I only ended up using 3 of them, it wasn't a big deal. I was just glad they didn't bleed onto my dough! All in all, this was a fun project, but I'm not sure I'd go out of my way to attempt making this again. Thanks anyways, Marbalet. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This was okay.. It had an odd taste to it, so I wonder if I had done something wrong.. Everyone at the table ate some, so it wasn't a waste, but it was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I made this for Easter and everyone loved it! I didn't use eggs to decorate. Instead I braided the dough into a fancy looking bun. I had to add more flour to it because it was really runny (like 1 cup more), but it turned out awesome and I will make it again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
The bread was fun to make, but it was too dry cooked for 27 minutes. I took it out of the oven at 20 an brushed it with more butter and put it back in for 7 minutes. If I hadn't put it back in it would have been perfect. I made 3 rolls, as I wanted to braid them together. It tasted pretty good and it was fun to make, just too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
nade it for the first time for my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Airbornemama
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I think the recipe is wonderful. However, I had a really hard time rolling the dough to make the desired two lengths to braid the bread with. I'm sure it was something I did wrong. Perhaps I didn't let it rise long enough, I don't know. My Easter Braided bread turned out to look like an Easter Python. Please see attached photo and don't laugh. I'm still bringing it to Easter dinner this evening. Have a wonderful Easter :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Airbornemama
Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I made this as written.... OK... I had to add more flour; about 3/4 cup more all together. But it turned out great. I didn't really get bleeding from the colored eggs after I put a thin coat of olive oil on them prior to placing them in the dough. I glazed with a powdered sugar/orange juice glaze. I think it turned out pretty great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikeswastedtime

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This is the first time that I have made bread. It came out beautiful. I washed the eggs and put them into the bread before dying them. Once the bread was done, I dyed the eggs and put them back into the holes I created with the eggs. I would suggest putting a little bit of egg whites on top to make the bread look shiny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

How to Make Pita Bread

See how to make delicious homemade pita bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States