Braided Easter Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This looked very pretty and impressed our Easter guests. However, the bread never rose and it tasted horrible. Am I missing something? I thought you were supposed to mix yeast with warm water first but this recipe didn't have that so we didn't do it. Just wondering what we can do better next time because it really was a lovely centerpiece on our Easter table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Wonderful flavored bread! The dough was sticky, just like the dough I make for cinnamon rolls, but you just have to use extra flour when you work with it--adding too much extra flour to the dough when kneading will make a tough, dry bread. I sprinkled it with cinnamon sugar, so the whole production smelled delicious! The only issue I took with this recipe is the baking time. I reduced to to 25 minutes, and still thought the bread was overdone. (The raw eggs were still cooked through with this shorter time.) I used the leftover bread to make bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA
Living In: Atmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
i made this for easter and it turned out great. everyone was so curious about the eggs, we cracked one open at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bfoulger
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Very Fun Recipe to make over the Easter Holiday. Turn out great I did only bake it for about 35 minutes and it was golden brown on top. I also coated it with egg white to make it more golden. Also it was very tastey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bfoulger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marsha
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I would like to preface this review by saying I am NOT a bread maker. I don't make bread with my hands and was not sure if I should try this recipe. But I did, and I'll tell you...it turned out fabulous and was the talk of our Easter dinner! The bread itself has a nice consistancy and was very tasty. To my surprise, the eggs were edible as well. One thing, before baking I brushed with butter as instructed, but then sprinkled some sesame seeds, poppy seeds, and little colorful egg sprinkles on top. It was beautiful!! I'll be posting a picture soon. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This is wonderful bread, easy to work with ;-) I made the dough on my bread machine and came out perfect, added a little more flour at the begining of cycle (maybe 1/4 cup). Good flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Cake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Great bread! It tastes and looks awesome. I made this bread for 8 people, and doubled the recipe. Dye the eggs raw, nestle them in the bread, and once it is baked it is like the eggs are hard boiled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hadorsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bolton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
So delicious! made this for Easter Sunday and my guests really enjoyed it. Beautiful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Carol
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
My whole family loved this for Easter,it was fun to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Very good except mine was overdone. The reason I am giving 4 stars and not 5 is due to inaccurate baking time. I even reduced my bake time to 40 minutes and it was dry. Next time I will take it out around 30ish mins as someone suggested. This is a beautiful presentation Easter bread! My food coloring-dyed eggs bled into the bread as well, and I inserted them well into the braid. It's ok, just adds to the dramatic look. My eggs were multicolored, but I read on Greek websites that traditional Tsoureki Pascha has only red eggs to represent blood of Christ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States