Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This has definitely become the ONLY BBQ suace that I make and use (no more store bought stuff!). I still follow the recipe and love how it tastes. If anyone has kept it in the fridge for extended periods of time please let me know. I want to make a big batch so I always have it on hand. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly except for one thing...I sauteed the onions and garlic in two tablespoons of butter, and then added the bourbon. I thought it was going to be too smoky and too sweet, but it's actually pretty balanced. I chose Frank's Red Hot for the hot sauce, and used about a teaspoon. I could have used more. Next time I'll probably try some Huy Fong Sriracha (the bottle with the rooster on it). I also used the minimum simmer time. I think this sauce would be more intense the longer it is simmered. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Everyone who tried this sauce loved it. It deserves five stars. I didn't have any hot sauce so I substituted cayenne pepper. It tasted too spicy hot when it finished cooking. But,a fter letting it sit for two days in the refrigerator then cooking the ribs in the sauce in a slow cooker, the excessive spiciness was gone Perfect! From my experience in food service and marketing, I realize that if there were a such thing as the best recipe in the world, there still be 2% or 3% of tasters who would not like it. In this instance, they would probably be the individuals who prefer the taste of the bottled BBQ sauce, with the MSG and high fructose corn syrup. I admit that I have tasted the factory-made sauce and some taste very good; MSG will make them taste good. But I enjoy cooking at home and using healthy ingredients (I'm sure Kraft does not use the more costly organic ingredients that I use). My best advice is to ignore the very few poor ratings of this recipe and try it. If you do not like it, alter the recipe to taste. The three ingredients to alter would be: the liquid smoke (for smokiness flavor) the hot sauce (for spiciness or heat) and the brown sugar (for the sweetness or molasses taste). The amount of brown sugar may be changed to taste or another sweetener altogether may be used. Such a large number of people reviewed this recipe and gave it five stars and rave reviews that it is well worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Excellent flavor! Tastes just like I want my BBQ to taste ~ a little sweet, a little smokey, and a little spicey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by woodfairie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Ran out and bought a bottle of bourbon just for this recipe. Had it on chicken and ribs. After reading the reviews I expected the sauce to be a knockout, but we were disappointed. Just a couple of tads better than the bottled stuff at the market and that was after adding more heat to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I use this as a general guide for making my own. I use Jack Daniel's Tennessee Honey bourbon in mine, using it while cooking down the onions and I also add it into the sauce. I also add some dried chipotle seasoning, garlic, pure maple syrup, honey and some crushed red pepper. I let it cook down and simmer per this recipe and then strain it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Cooking Couple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
You know bbq sauce is truly good when you can eat it by itself. Little high on the salt for me. But I cant stand sweet sauce or vinegry sauce and this is a perfect blend. Instead of straining to get the chunks out I recommend using a blender on the solids. This will make the onions and garlic small enough that straining is not needed. Thank you so much for posting this. My uncle made something very similar to this when I was young. Brought back memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This is really tasty! I used regular whiskey (Glenfiddich) because that's what I had on hand, but it turned out with a wonderful flavor. I also used the cheapest ketchup I could find. I'll make this often and won't be purchasing BBQ sauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Simply incredible. It was quite expensive to make though, heavily due to the bottle of Jack Daniels. Well, at least here in Ontario it was expensive...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
magic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn Cotter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 613) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States