Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2006
Update: I figure out this tastes the same no matter which bourbon whiskey I use. I now pick up one of the cheapest bottles they have and it's great. Original: This deserves more than 5 stars! I made this for Memorial Day BBQ and it was wonderful! Used Maker's Mark and didn't change the recipe other than adding a bit more hot sauce. Cooked it outside on the grill on Saturday for Monday's BBQ. I strained the onions out and I wish I would have followed some other suggestions of cutting the onions into wedges to make it easier, but it all worked out in the end. Letting the chicken soak in the BBQ sauce for 24 hours from yesterday until today made it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
316 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
This recipe is off the chains!!!! I used it four times already since November. The last time I've made it, I used a crockpot and made a gallon of it. My family and I went bowling while this was in the crockpot. When we left I set it on low. Five hours later, we returned and the whole house smelled like sauce. It was great! I sat it in the fridge for 48 hours. Wow, what a sauce. I do not buy that junk in the stores anymore. THANKS HOMIE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
243 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Merrillville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
Hey Kevin Why haven't you bottled this stuff? Its the best we've ever tried. We love BBQ sauce on pulled pork, baby backs, and country ribs. Outstanding. Thanks for sharing. I pre-baked the babybacks for 2 hours on 250, then slathered your sauce on them, put them under a low broiler. Then every 15 minutes, brushed them with the sauce again. At the end of 45 minutes the sauce had mostly carmelized and the meat was falling off the bones. Delicious! Thanks for sharing, Kevin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
I HAVE LIED TO ALL MY FRIENDS THAT THIS IS MY RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This BBQ sauce recipe is freakin' insane. So good. I made it this morning and let it cook a bit, planning on using it for BBQ chicken tonight. I stuck my finger in to taste it and oooohweeee, this is delicious. I made no changes or subs, followed the recipe exact. This one's a keeper. I can only imagine how this'll crank up the flavor on my chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
The best BBQ sauce I have ever had! Made sauce the night before making the Amazing Ribs from this website. A true winner! Used Crown Royal whiskey (how can you go wrong with that??) Don't worry about the minced onion and garlic being too chunky. When I cooked the Amazing Ribs in the crockpot, the chunks were not noticable. Try this...You'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mexico, Missouri, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Awesome BBQ sauce - I scaled this down just to try it and I'm so glad I did. I added a little more bourbon to it and next time I'll do it in a crock pot and leave the onions in large pieces to avoid the tedious process of straining them out....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
WOW!!! I lived in Kansas City for over 40 years and we know BBQ and this sauce is the best I think I have ever tasted. It is easy to make, and it IS better to make a few days before you use it as the flavors meld and intensify. I am going to use this for my favorite briskett recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
Excellent. Best if left for over 24 hours before using. Maybe a little less liquid smoke and a little more hot sauce next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
After reading the reviews, I decreased the cider vinegar a bit but made no other changes. Fantastic BBQ sauce...thansk Kevin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 613) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States