Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I love this recipe! So good that I decided to enter it into our county fair last year and it won the Reserve Grand Champion ribbon! I share the ribbon with you Kevin and thank you for a great bbq sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Sue Telenko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CharlieC
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I wanted a bourbon based sauce. So I tried this. I doubled the amounts and added 2 ham hocks. Wow it's great. I put a little on my pork sandwich. I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Oh my gosh!!! I was skeptical about the bourbon and hot pepper sauce and almost left them out, but wow! I would have missed out BIG TIME if I had. I agree with another reviewer- I'll never buy another BBQ sauce in the store again!! I'm going to make extra and put them in mason jars as part of Father's Day gifts to my dad and father-in-law.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA
Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
This sauce is fantastic, when I review recipes I try not to stray too far from the original. I did use 2 tbs. rendered bacon grease, for that smoky flavor, in place of liquid smoke, I just do not like that stuff. Also cut the salt in 1/2. For the people that thought it had a strong bourbon flavor, maybe the alcohol did not cook off, because there was just a very mild hint of bourbon flavor. I will make this all summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Loved it! Instead of hot pepper sauce, I added Dijon mustard (or, as autocorrect would insist: Simon mustard), and it was FABULOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Sooo delicious. I made a big batch and canned it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gypsyh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Campbell, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I made this to go on ribs I prepared that same night, and I didn't like it. I thought it was a problem with the sauce. But I saved the rest of it anyway and used it later on pulled pork, and again on a roast chicken. Both were phenomenal. I think letting it age was the key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Excellent. Have never tried to make BBQ sauce before. This was superb. I made large batch (multiplied everything x4 EXCEPT vinegar and liq smoke x3 only). One daughter suggested I add more liquid smoke but I was happy with the flavor. I canned (4) 1 Qt jars and that was exactly how much it made. Will make this again as well as make it for Christmas as gifts. I used Southern Comfort (I don't drink much so didn't know what different brands would do to flavor---went cheap). May try Jack Daniels next time to see if there is a difference in flavor. I left onions (but I almost minced them) and garlic in the sauce without straining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I have tried it with Whiskey and it rocks. I am now in the middle of using Apple Pie Moonshine that I had made up. Oh my its one tasty treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Reid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Loved it and so did all the others at our lake trip. I'm going to make more and can it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 681) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bar-B-Que Sauce

The perfect BBQ sauce recipe, ready to make right at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States