Blueberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I am really pleased with the way these scones turned out! Based on other reviews, I made these changes: 2 cups whole wheat pastry flour (I like Bob's Red Mill brand) 1/2 c. loosely packed brown sugar (usu. I cut sugar down, but I wanted a bit more sweet to balance out the lemon) 3 handfuls of frozen blueberries (frozen fruit always works in baking and doesn't smoosh as easily when mixing) 1/2 c. of Chobani non-fat lemon yogurt 1/4 c. lowfat (1%) milk I made them drop scones on a Pam-sprayed cookie sheet and they took 18 min. Otherwise, I stuck to the directions. I lived in the UK for 5 years and while these were a bit more crumbly (due to the whole wheat flour, I think) and a teensy bit sweeter than those I was accustomed to across the pond, I think they were a very good *health food* alternative. Tangy, a bit sweet, moist tasting and delicious with tea. What more could you want from a scone! Also lovely served with Polaner All-Fruit Apricot spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaLearnsToCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Awesome recipe. I've made with cranberries too. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
The problem with this recipe is its name. Its not a scone its a drop batter for...something like a muffin. scones turn into a dough, this does not and it has too much baking powder in it. Its not a good recipe if it has to have major changes ( double flour, less b.p., more sugar) to meet its name. Sorry. I also did not think it tasted good. Congrads to all who like the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RasheedsWife

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
my first go-round with scones and i'm pretty pleased. what i like is that the texture is buttery and light - not doughy & dense like most bakery scones. i added a dash of white sugar to the mix and also used fresh blueberries. i also used the 'drop' method - worked out great. no dough handling and mess. just a scoop with a spoon and voila. and, one last thing, i made mine small - nicer than the giant pucks! agree with the other reviewers that this is a great base recipe that you can customize to your heart's delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Great recipe. Super easy. My boyfriend and I had these for days with our morning breakfast shakes. 06/24/12 update: I have tried these in the last couple of months with different fruits; once with apricots and once with rasberries, always turned out great. The only thing is that depending on the moisture of the fruit, I had to add more flour when working the dough to cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gurkamel
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This recipe is amazing and quickly became a family favourite. I personally love blueberries so I added 1 1/2 cups of it. Then I whisked together some lemon icing ( 1/4 cup of lemon juice and 1 cup of icing sugar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Followed this recipe with only one change. I subbed the brown sugar with Splenda's brown sugar. They turned out great, even my picky husband loves them. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALTAROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint-Bruno-De-Montarville, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
These definitely need more sugar unless you are going to add preserves. The dough is super sticky, but it bakes up just fine. I would suggest using frozen blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieEater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Excellent recipe. I added the rind of one lemon to the recipe because I like the combination with blueberries. When kneading the dough, add some flour above and below the mixture otherwise, it is very sticky. Doesn't require much kneading, just press the dough in to the circles referenced in the recipe. Scones are not dry, and are wonderful with a cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
These are delicious and easy to make. You can even substitute the half and half with yogurt, which worked well in my batch... and you can use other fruits too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States