Blueberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This recipe is quick and easy and very delicious. Scones are not a super-sweet pastry and these are every bit as good as those from Starbucks. I did use white sugar rather than brown and used 1/3 cup rather than 1/4 cup. I was able to get mine shaped and cut into wedges despite their "wetness" but would probably drop by spoonfuls next time, as another reviewer mentioned. As soon as they came out of the oven, I topped them with a powdered sugar glaze into which I grated some lemon zest (about 1/4 tsp). Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Used 100% whole wheat flour. Tender, light and not-too-sweet! Next time, will substitute 1/2 cup plain yogurt for cream, as suggested below.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tawmn
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
These were really good just as the recipe states. Yes the dough is wet, but it comes out really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Great recipe; I don't like my pastries too sweet and this was a perfect mixture. I substituted 1/2 c. of low-fat yogurt for the cream, and just added a little skim milk as I was mixing the dough until it came together. I also tried a batch substituting 1 c. of whole wheat flour--delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
These were wonderful! I used some suggestions for others, and they came out delightful! I substituted 1/2 c. vanilla yogurt for the cream, and added the juice and zest of 1 lemon and a sprinkle of granulated sugar on top. All the rest of the ingredients were unchanged. I agree that the pan needed parchment paper if for no other reason than to keep the blueberry goodness off the pan and speeding clean-up. I cut the dough into 8 large scones, though I wish I had cut them into 12. As a result of the larger size I needed to bake them an extra 5 or so minutes. After resting for 5 minutes, they had great texture, enough sweetness (the vanilla yogurt helped that), and fantastic lemon-blueberry flavor. Thanks for a wonderful recipe. I'm going to try orange-cranberry, peach, apricot and whatever fresh fruits come along. Should be a delightful summer with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
My favorite go-to when guests stay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
My entire family loved these. 3 generations - my mother, husband and young adult daughter. I used frozen blueberries (we had frozen after picking from a farm a week ago) and a mixture of all purpose and whole wheat flours. Cut butter into small chunks before cutting into flour. Also, mixed wet into dry ingredients all at once, but did not stir more than necessary to get the dry ingredients wet. Will likely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Needs about a cup more flower....to mushy when turned out.....eat a REAL scone before you use this receipt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Yum, thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CheeryWazel
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Great. I used half a cup of strawberry fat free yogurt in place of the three fourths of a cup of half and half. I also didn't have an egg so I used a tablespoon of cornstarch and three tablespoons of water. The blueberries I used were frozen. They turned out tasting like a low fat product. Mainly the consistency wasn't there. Using a real egg would have been better. Also the half and half. I am used to scones being very buttery and high in calories and fat. Great breakfast food. And I put lemon icing over one batch. My boyfriend loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CheeryWazel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 370) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States