Blueberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I've made lots of scones in my years, but this one just didn't do it for me. There isn't much flavor and the texture is not that of a scone. A blueberry breakfast cake might be a better title for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. It is gooy, tasteless mess. Not enough sugar to even tell there is any in it. Not enough flour to make a decent dough. A major disappointment on all level that you would expect from a scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Excellent recipe! Some reveiws say the dough was soggy. It wasn't for me! I did double the brown sugar, and it wasn't too sweet. It could also use more salt a perhaps a touch of cinnamon. But the bluberries were nice and juicy! I tried out "drop-scones" as another reveiws teaches. Like drop-biscuits you spoon out the batter onto a greased cook sheet. It turned out wonderful! I'm surely going to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Very easy to make. Used half blueberries and half peaches, which made a good combination. Nice for Sunday breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Wonderful basic scones. I needed to bake them a little longer than requested in the recipe but that may be because I used frozen blueberries. This recipe is not sweet, so I used a light drizzle of icing to dress them up. We liked them very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I was hesitant to try because of negative reviews;however I followed directions exactly. My husband is currently raving over the results. Excellent recipe. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOUSETAIL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This recipe is quick and easy and very delicious. Scones are not a super-sweet pastry and these are every bit as good as those from Starbucks. I did use white sugar rather than brown and used 1/3 cup rather than 1/4 cup. I was able to get mine shaped and cut into wedges despite their "wetness" but would probably drop by spoonfuls next time, as another reviewer mentioned. As soon as they came out of the oven, I topped them with a powdered sugar glaze into which I grated some lemon zest (about 1/4 tsp). Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Used 100% whole wheat flour. Tender, light and not-too-sweet! Next time, will substitute 1/2 cup plain yogurt for cream, as suggested below.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tawmn
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
These were really good just as the recipe states. Yes the dough is wet, but it comes out really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Great recipe; I don't like my pastries too sweet and this was a perfect mixture. I substituted 1/2 c. of low-fat yogurt for the cream, and just added a little skim milk as I was mixing the dough until it came together. I also tried a batch substituting 1 c. of whole wheat flour--delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States