Blueberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. It is gooy, tasteless mess. Not enough sugar to even tell there is any in it. Not enough flour to make a decent dough. A major disappointment on all level that you would expect from a scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Excellent recipe! Some reveiws say the dough was soggy. It wasn't for me! I did double the brown sugar, and it wasn't too sweet. It could also use more salt a perhaps a touch of cinnamon. But the bluberries were nice and juicy! I tried out "drop-scones" as another reveiws teaches. Like drop-biscuits you spoon out the batter onto a greased cook sheet. It turned out wonderful! I'm surely going to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Very easy to make. Used half blueberries and half peaches, which made a good combination. Nice for Sunday breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Wonderful basic scones. I needed to bake them a little longer than requested in the recipe but that may be because I used frozen blueberries. This recipe is not sweet, so I used a light drizzle of icing to dress them up. We liked them very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I was hesitant to try because of negative reviews;however I followed directions exactly. My husband is currently raving over the results. Excellent recipe. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOUSETAIL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This recipe is quick and easy and very delicious. Scones are not a super-sweet pastry and these are every bit as good as those from Starbucks. I did use white sugar rather than brown and used 1/3 cup rather than 1/4 cup. I was able to get mine shaped and cut into wedges despite their "wetness" but would probably drop by spoonfuls next time, as another reviewer mentioned. As soon as they came out of the oven, I topped them with a powdered sugar glaze into which I grated some lemon zest (about 1/4 tsp). Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Used 100% whole wheat flour. Tender, light and not-too-sweet! Next time, will substitute 1/2 cup plain yogurt for cream, as suggested below.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tawmn
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
These were really good just as the recipe states. Yes the dough is wet, but it comes out really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Great recipe; I don't like my pastries too sweet and this was a perfect mixture. I substituted 1/2 c. of low-fat yogurt for the cream, and just added a little skim milk as I was mixing the dough until it came together. I also tried a batch substituting 1 c. of whole wheat flour--delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
These were wonderful! I used some suggestions for others, and they came out delightful! I substituted 1/2 c. vanilla yogurt for the cream, and added the juice and zest of 1 lemon and a sprinkle of granulated sugar on top. All the rest of the ingredients were unchanged. I agree that the pan needed parchment paper if for no other reason than to keep the blueberry goodness off the pan and speeding clean-up. I cut the dough into 8 large scones, though I wish I had cut them into 12. As a result of the larger size I needed to bake them an extra 5 or so minutes. After resting for 5 minutes, they had great texture, enough sweetness (the vanilla yogurt helped that), and fantastic lemon-blueberry flavor. Thanks for a wonderful recipe. I'm going to try orange-cranberry, peach, apricot and whatever fresh fruits come along. Should be a delightful summer with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States