Blueberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I saved some of the egg/milk mixture to brush on top, like in the "How to Make Scones" video I saw on AllRecipes.com. Dough was sticky, but not unmanageable. Finished product is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I used thawed frozen blueberries, and in place of the cream I used 3/4 c. (6 oz. container) of Dannon's (could be any brand though) blueberry yogurt. The blueberry yogurt (stirred before adding) gave it a bit of a blueberry tinge and added a bit more sweetness and less fat. I'd add some coarse sugar to the tops before baking the next time, but not necessary. For those who commented on the dough being so sticky - well, it is. But flour the board before turning it out to shape it, and flour your hands before you start shaping it or before kneading it. I found mine really didn't need much kneading. Shaping it can do most of that job. It will not be like a bread dough. So although you think you have a sticky mass of nothing, it's really something! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Quick and easy recipe. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This recipe was not sweet at all, and was VERY bland. I managed to save them from being too boring by making an icing for them. They were a lot better after that. I wouldn't recommend this recipe unless you are willing to play around with it and fix it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Love this recipie. Mine turned out a little hard to work with but the taste made up for it. I wasn't making them for anyone other than my family so to look like a scone, wasn't a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I am really pleased with the way these scones turned out! Based on other reviews, I made these changes: 2 cups whole wheat pastry flour (I like Bob's Red Mill brand) 1/2 c. loosely packed brown sugar (usu. I cut sugar down, but I wanted a bit more sweet to balance out the lemon) 3 handfuls of frozen blueberries (frozen fruit always works in baking and doesn't smoosh as easily when mixing) 1/2 c. of Chobani non-fat lemon yogurt 1/4 c. lowfat (1%) milk I made them drop scones on a Pam-sprayed cookie sheet and they took 18 min. Otherwise, I stuck to the directions. I lived in the UK for 5 years and while these were a bit more crumbly (due to the whole wheat flour, I think) and a teensy bit sweeter than those I was accustomed to across the pond, I think they were a very good *health food* alternative. Tangy, a bit sweet, moist tasting and delicious with tea. What more could you want from a scone! Also lovely served with Polaner All-Fruit Apricot spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaLearnsToCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Awesome recipe. I've made with cranberries too. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
The problem with this recipe is its name. Its not a scone its a drop batter for...something like a muffin. scones turn into a dough, this does not and it has too much baking powder in it. Its not a good recipe if it has to have major changes ( double flour, less b.p., more sugar) to meet its name. Sorry. I also did not think it tasted good. Congrads to all who like the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RasheedsWife

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
my first go-round with scones and i'm pretty pleased. what i like is that the texture is buttery and light - not doughy & dense like most bakery scones. i added a dash of white sugar to the mix and also used fresh blueberries. i also used the 'drop' method - worked out great. no dough handling and mess. just a scoop with a spoon and voila. and, one last thing, i made mine small - nicer than the giant pucks! agree with the other reviewers that this is a great base recipe that you can customize to your heart's delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Great recipe. Super easy. My boyfriend and I had these for days with our morning breakfast shakes. 06/24/12 update: I have tried these in the last couple of months with different fruits; once with apricots and once with rasberries, always turned out great. The only thing is that depending on the moisture of the fruit, I had to add more flour when working the dough to cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States