Blueberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Great recipe; I don't like my pastries too sweet and this was a perfect mixture. I substituted 1/2 c. of low-fat yogurt for the cream, and just added a little skim milk as I was mixing the dough until it came together. I also tried a batch substituting 1 c. of whole wheat flour--delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
These were wonderful! I used some suggestions for others, and they came out delightful! I substituted 1/2 c. vanilla yogurt for the cream, and added the juice and zest of 1 lemon and a sprinkle of granulated sugar on top. All the rest of the ingredients were unchanged. I agree that the pan needed parchment paper if for no other reason than to keep the blueberry goodness off the pan and speeding clean-up. I cut the dough into 8 large scones, though I wish I had cut them into 12. As a result of the larger size I needed to bake them an extra 5 or so minutes. After resting for 5 minutes, they had great texture, enough sweetness (the vanilla yogurt helped that), and fantastic lemon-blueberry flavor. Thanks for a wonderful recipe. I'm going to try orange-cranberry, peach, apricot and whatever fresh fruits come along. Should be a delightful summer with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
My favorite go-to when guests stay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
My entire family loved these. 3 generations - my mother, husband and young adult daughter. I used frozen blueberries (we had frozen after picking from a farm a week ago) and a mixture of all purpose and whole wheat flours. Cut butter into small chunks before cutting into flour. Also, mixed wet into dry ingredients all at once, but did not stir more than necessary to get the dry ingredients wet. Will likely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Needs about a cup more flower....to mushy when turned out.....eat a REAL scone before you use this receipt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Yum, thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CheeryWazel
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Great. I used half a cup of strawberry fat free yogurt in place of the three fourths of a cup of half and half. I also didn't have an egg so I used a tablespoon of cornstarch and three tablespoons of water. The blueberries I used were frozen. They turned out tasting like a low fat product. Mainly the consistency wasn't there. Using a real egg would have been better. Also the half and half. I am used to scones being very buttery and high in calories and fat. Great breakfast food. And I put lemon icing over one batch. My boyfriend loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CheeryWazel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
These were delicious! I made them on a whim for a girlfriend I was having over. Our 13 month olds loved them too! I, like others, added an extra 1/4 cup of flour. I also added 1 tsp of cinnamon which added just a little more flavor. Next time, I think I'll add a little lemon zest too! Great recipe! Moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I love this recipe it is quick and easy. I replaced the fresh blueberries with dried berries and it is delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
i made these scones and my family loved them! They keep well over night, but are best warm. If you put just a little bit of powdered sugar on top it really adds to them. thx for the delicious recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States