Blueberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
It was the night before Mother's Day and I wanted to bake something nice for my mom for her day. Now, I know one thing for certain about my mom. She LOVES scones. I don't know anything about how to make scones, so I turn to my handy smartphone and search for blueberry scones. That's her favourite kind. This popped up with great reviews so I drove down to the store and grabbed some ingredients. I was so surprised at how easy this was to make. When I went to get the blueberries from my fridge, though, I discovered I didn't have any. Because I had already made the dough, though, I formed the scones and threw them into the oven anyways. I was scared at the end results without the blueberries. When i tested one, though, it was delicious. It truly is a tasty recipe even without the blueberries. Next time I have a friend over, I will definitely be making these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Yum!! After reading the reviews, and since this was my first time ever to make scones. I only added a 1/2 cup of the half and half. Since a lot of people said that it was too wet. So only using 1/2 cup was perfect. I will make these again. They were very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jayden348
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This recipe is awesome exactly as written. For those having trouble here are my thoughts... Stir the dough literally JUST enough to combine dry ingredients...barely. For the kneeding part...I didn't...just smushed it against the side of the bowl GENTLY twice or three times until it made a ball. The warmth in your hands melts your chilled butter! You need chunks in there for an excellent product! Hockey pucks do not make good eats...even with coffee! And coffee can save anything! Seriously, though, dont bake them rock hard. Mine were just brown on the bottom and bottom edge. When I picked them up off the cookie sheet...which I did spray with Baker's Joy...they felt like they might crumble apart if I manhandled them. Just grab shaggy handfuls of dough...resist the urge to shape. Put the "lumps" on the cookie sheet and bake. I used the seeds of 1 1/2 real vanilla beans in mine...yummy! Next time I will increase a little. The vanilla adds a hint of natural sweetness which is lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
This recipe was so simple to make, and the scones were wonderful to eat !!! Thanks for posting this !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I wanted a more savory blueberry treat than muffins, and decided to try this. This is a great scones recipe! Reading the reviews, I decided to cut the liquid and add 1/2 cup yogurt and 1 egg instead. But the batter was too dry, so I ended up adding 1/4 cup of milk after all, bringing the liquid up to what the recipe called for. Like our southern biscuits, scone batter should be very sticky, and barely hold together. I floured my hands and worked the dough gently into scone shapes rather than trying to cut it. Came out really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Micanopy, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
DId mine GF and added a couple tbs of non dairy vanilla creamer to give it a hint. Yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Just had these for breakfast and they were great. Made as directed and dropped the batter into a scone pan. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berwick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
My neighbor the fuss budget says its even better than the King Arthur mixes we buy - lighter and tastier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I just made these this morning with the last of our fresh blueberries! ,followed the recipe. As for complaints about lack of sweetness/taste....I found these very authentic tasting based on lots of time spent, and scones eaten in England and Scotland. The "scones" served at Starbucks and Dunkin Donuts are the imposters...THESE are the real deal :) Yes, the dough was sticky....but that doesn't really matter because you don't need to handle the dough very much. I divided it and placed each lump on a moderately floured board and pressed it lightly into a circle (put flour on my hands so it didn't stick) and cut with a floured knife. very simple! I brushed the tops with cream, as noted in other recipes I have made. When cooled, I drizzled with a lemon glaze (confectioners sugar and fresh lemon juice)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
This was the first time I've ever made scones and chose this recipe because of the simplicity. I absolutely loved the scones! Not too sweet and with fresh blueberries the flavor was amazing! I will definitely save this recipe to my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 375) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States