Blueberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Dough was ridiculously sticky. Hard to work with. Messy. Too wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by oddible
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Great recipe, dough was perfectly workable and not gooey at all. Not sure what other reviewers did to their mix to but I followed the recipe exactly (though I added a bit over a cup of blueberries) and it came out great. Result was as expected for a scone, though my wife likes 'em a bit sweeter so I'll probably at least add sugar to the top next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oddible

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This is a great recipe. The dough was a little sticky but definitely worth it. I recommend not to knead the dough hard because the blueberries will smush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mo8

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Read thru the reviews and I added a little more flour and a touch of vanilla. Even with the little extra flour, they were still very sticky. I just dropped spoonfuls of the mixture on a parchment covered baking sheet. They were delicious tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
When I added more flour, it was too dry, so I added some vanilla and a little water. I put in a little white sugar and covered them in vanilla sugar. I made the scones a little too big, but they were still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Moyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
These are delicious. I just made them tonight and my whole place smells like a bakery. I did like someone else suggested and used 1/2cup of plain non-fat yogurt instead of cream because I had it on hand. They turned out great. I used fresh blueberries and it's like a blueberry scone explosion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENVET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
OMG... I'm eating one of these as I type and they're so yummy! I made a few alterations according to the reviews. I added aprox. 1 more T butter. I also used a flavored creamer in place of the half and half; added a pinch of dried lemon peel. I was very carful to not overmix so they stayed tender and moist inside. Great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Great texture and taste. This is a wonderful recipe as written. We did add a few drops of lemon oil flavoring as we like that with anything with blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Yes it was sticky and so I did not shape and cut as per the instructions but made drop scones as another reviewer suggested. Used frozen blueberries and added 1/4 tsp vanilla ... liked the fact that it was not too sweet, but rather light and going well with butter. Both girls liked it alot also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
My dh loves blueberries but to me they are just good. I really enjoyed them in this recipe and will make it again! I used frozen berries and 1/2 tsp. cinnamon. You can grate the cold butter which makes it easier to cut into the flour. Yes the dough was sticky so next time I won't use all of the cream unless needed. I put half the dough on a floured counter, sprinkled flour on top and on my hands (tried to use only one hand). Tried to knead it but it was difficult. The other 1/2 I put on a floured cookie sheet and that was easier. Made 6" circles, didn't cut, spread a spoonful of milk on top then sprinkled on sugar. DH said they were not sweet and I said they are not supposed to be. They were just right. Soft, tender, light, tastey... If you need more sweet you can drizzle a glaze on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States