Black Bean Tortilla Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
Everyone in our house loved it! You might want to double the recipe for 9 people, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mgcasella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Very tasty casserole and excellent as leftovers. I made a few substitutions for lack of ingredients: chopped carrots instead of peppers and since I was out of black beans, I spread refried beans on the tortillas. I also added a block of firm tofu, sliced thinly, to one layer. I used two giganic onions, and although it tasted great, a little less onion would have been better. I used 5 cloves of garlic instead of 2. Thanks for the recipe, Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I loved it, but my hubby would prefer meat in it, so next time I'll probably add shredded chicken. I topped it with cilantro, tomato, and avocado slices, no olives. I had to use quite a bit more picante sauce than the recipe called for to be able to boil it. I think corn would be good in this as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
really good and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This recipe is a keeper! I only changed one thing. I didn't drain the can of diced tomatoes and it turned out moist and delicious. I also added sour cream as a topping. I forgot to buy garlic so I just added some garlic salt. My boyfriend absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINAMARIE1971

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
This is the first time I've rated anything on this site. This recipe is great! So simple and adaptable. I did use more salsa/picante than suggested. I bet I've made this recipe every other week since I found it. My husband loves it too. He has no idea it is so easy and quick to make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
Very good and healthy too! I used frozen chopped onions and peppers to save time and also added some chopped green onions between the layers and on top with the final layer of cheese. Easy and even my husband commented on how good it was. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
This had a great flavor, and was very filling. thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naxxramas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Great recipe! I did not use tortillas - I left them off on purpose, and it still came out really good. I'm thinking about scooping this over baked potatoes when I eat the left overs. Maybe next time I'll add the potatoes to cook with the dish instead of the tortillas. I will let you know how that turns out. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This went together very quickly and was delicious. My husband (who is not a big fan of casseroles in general) loved it and ate 2 big helpings. I used colored peppers (red, orange and yellow) instead of green as we prefer the milder taste, and sauteed the peppers and onions a couple minutes before adding the rest of the ingredients. I used flour tortillas, since that is what I had on hand, but think it would be good with either flour or corn. I also added some sliced black olives to the casserole on each layer before baking and that added a very nice taste, we thought. Quick, easy and very tasty....can't get much better than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States