Black Bean Tortilla Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I stuck with the recipe and it was excellent. It had a little sweet taste to it. I wonder if it's the cumin? Next time I'll probably add a little more "hot" flavor. This is a recipe worth repeating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I used flour tortillas instead of corn which were a bit too soggy. Other than that the flavors were pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spanish Fork, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This was really good, my husband and I LOVE them. It's a good way to use up a lot of the tomatoes from my garden (I didn't use any canned ingredients). I only added 1/4 cup picante sauce, the rest regular taco sauce. That was plenty spicy for me! I omitted the onions since I don't like them. I added corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
It was excellent! I added some corn and cilantro and some mango chili sauce to give it some extra flair--also added a bit more garlic, cumin and some coriander. I will make this again, (and again and again if my husband has his way).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This is a great recipe! My family LOVED it! I made this in an 8x8 pan so cut recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This recipe was very easy to make and my husband really liked it. I made quite a few changes. I added red pepper and the corn from three fresh cobs. I used half of a huge walla walla sweet onion. I didn't have any olives or green onions so I didn't use them. When I make it again I will add a bottom layer of tortillas. Also, I used 12 tortillas rather than the 8 suggested. This recipe would also go well with chicken or ground turkey or beef added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
This was easy to make and delicious. I have been looking for a vegetarian dish that doesn't scream "no meat". This is a great dish that does it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
I was about to make tacos for dinner when I stumbled upon this recipe, and it sounded like a nice change. My husband and I loved it, but it didn't get great ratings from the kids; my son finished all I gave him (begrudgingly) and my daughter ate only the beans and toppings. I made a few changes to the recipe: I added about 1 C of frozen corn, 2 t. chili powder, and I put the toppings right on top of the casserole once it came out of the oven. It was good, but missing something, maybe some cilantro... I also set out sour cream and salsa for topping. All in all, this was a good dish and I will probably try it again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I served this at a home party I hosted and it was the first thing to disappear. Everyone came back for seconds. Since then, I was placed on a gluten-free diet and remembered this recipe. It's excellent and my husband loves it, too. We're both meat-eaters, but still enjoyed it. I think it would be very good with shredded chicken or ground beef. It reheats very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quarryville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
This was a nice change of pace from our usual dinner routine. I added some red pepper to the mix and substituted some ground turkey seasoned with a little taco seasoning for one can of the cans of black beans. I also used a whole package of cheese. My husband requested that it go on our permanent rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SSTRAWDER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States