Black Bean Tortilla Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This went together very quickly and was delicious. My husband (who is not a big fan of casseroles in general) loved it and ate 2 big helpings. I used colored peppers (red, orange and yellow) instead of green as we prefer the milder taste, and sauteed the peppers and onions a couple minutes before adding the rest of the ingredients. I used flour tortillas, since that is what I had on hand, but think it would be good with either flour or corn. I also added some sliced black olives to the casserole on each layer before baking and that added a very nice taste, we thought. Quick, easy and very tasty....can't get much better than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This recipe surprised me. It was easy, fast and quite a nice blend of flavors. My family didn't even miss the meat. We are not vegetarians, but I will keep this in my recipe box for a fast dinner solution on occassion. Now, I did make a few changes. I didn't have all the ingredients on hand. I used a frozen bag of mixed colored bell peppers and a can of tomatoes with onion, which I didn't drain. I even ommitted the picante sauce. Even with those changes the casserole held up very well, and turned out delicious. I have shared this recipe with all my mom friends who are always looking for fast and healthy meal ideas. As I tell my boys, "try it, you just might like it!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I made this recipe as is and we really enjoyed it. Good flavor and my tortillas didn't get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
My family and I liked this a lot. I added more salsa initially and more cheese during the baking process, but other than that, I pretty much followed the recipe. Once you get the prep and all the chopping out of the way, this is a very easy dish to make. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Great recipe! I did not use tortillas - I left them off on purpose, and it still came out really good. I'm thinking about scooping this over baked potatoes when I eat the left overs. Maybe next time I'll add the potatoes to cook with the dish instead of the tortillas. I will let you know how that turns out. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laur laur
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I liked the flavor of this recipe but I did not enjoy the texture of the mushy tortillas. If there were some way the tortillas could come out crunchy I think I would like this much more. Like other reviewers I did not drain the tomatos. I also used a whole packaged of shredded mexican cheese and put out lettuce, tomatos and cilantro for toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laur laur

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Great concept. I would use 6 tortillas per layer, and add a layer on the bottom. Next time I will use less onion and green pepper, and lots more cheese! Also, I love the taste of the olives cooked in, so I added them before baking. I may layer in some sour cream next time as well, along with more beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Very tasty casserole and excellent as leftovers. I made a few substitutions for lack of ingredients: chopped carrots instead of peppers and since I was out of black beans, I spread refried beans on the tortillas. I also added a block of firm tofu, sliced thinly, to one layer. I used two giganic onions, and although it tasted great, a little less onion would have been better. I used 5 cloves of garlic instead of 2. Thanks for the recipe, Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
Everyone in our house loved it! You might want to double the recipe for 9 people, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mgcasella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
This had a great flavor, and was very filling. thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naxxramas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States