Black Bean Tortilla Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Very average. Might have been better with another layer of tortillas, or to eat with chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I made this as an alternative to black bean tacos & it worked out really well. I started with dry black beans & cooked them in a pressure cooker to avoid mushy beans after baking, and used a thick salsa instead of picante sauce. I also replaced half of the reduced fat Mex-blend cheese with Cabot 75% reduced fat cheddar to make it just a wee bit more low-cal-diet-friendly, and used whole wheat tortillas. Turned out great - will probably add some chili powder and/or canned chilli peppers next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I followed this recipe pretty close, but added a little bit of chopped cooked boneless chicken breasts. Used regular cheddar instead of low-fat. It was so easy, and my husband says it is his absolutely favorite of any dish I've ever made! I cook a lot, so was shocked. I really enjoyed as well. Too spicy for the kids, but I think it would be easy to make a more bland version at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Excellent recipe and easy to follow. It made me feel confident enough that I could change it around a bit: I didn't add olives, opting instead for some sliced avocado as a topping. I also did the tortilla layer on the bottom which helped pull it together, and I also added a pound of browned ground beef at the same time as the beens. It got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lillpup
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This is a good, easy recipe when your looking for something hearty. I added corn and ground turkey meat that I had left over. Everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lillpup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Outstanding! Took the cover off halfway through the bake time to crisp up the top a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
***** Made this for lunch today - substituted Rotel for tomatoes and substituted salsa with a little water for picante sauce. Only used 1 large onion and garlic powder instead of fresh. Topped with low-fat sour cream. Was really good and filling. We are trying to add more fiber to our diet and this fit the bill. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I have tried a few bean tortilla casseroles from AllRecipes.com and this one is my husband's favorite. He loves that its not dry or too beany. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cricrinapoli

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Newington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
My husband and I both really enjoy this dish- I make it about once every two weeks. We both thought it needed a little crunch so I crush up some tortilla chips and sprinkle them on top as soon as it comes out of the oven. MMMM! It's yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Good! A straightforward, quick recipe that can be loaded up with vegetables. I added lots more mushrooms, corn, cilantro, and some extra peppers. It cooked up nicely and baked well. We ended up adding more seasoning and hot sauce, but we prefer our food spicier than many. Reheats very well in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States