Black Bean and Salsa Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
This made a good base, but I had my son (who is a HS culinary student) play with it and add some spices (salt, pepper, paprika, crushed red pepper, chili powder & onion powder) to make it more flavorful. He suggested adding 1/2 an onion the next time. I will definitely make it again with his suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Sachse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
We totally loved this! I added some of the things other reviewers did like a splash of sherry, garlic powder, onions and corn. But it was so easy to do. This is a real keeper. Thanks for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Delicious! Per other reviewers, I sautéed some minced garlic and onions and added it to the blender. I only puréed one can of beans and added the other one whole. I used ckn broth instead of veg. Fresh cilantro is a must! Served with cheese quesadillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
This was very good. I followed a couple of the suggestions and added sautéed onions and garlic and a bit of sherry. Other than that I kept the recipe the same. Very nice soup that is quite versatile and could not be simpler. My 12 year old son liked it with tortilla chips. I ate it with warm, crusty bread as did my husband. And my husband loved it so much he asked me if I could make it often. BTW, I found canned black beans that had less sodium than the majority of black beans and I used low sodium vegetable broth. Still very tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
absolutely fab! I added 2 onions and 3 cloves or garlic to simmer first.... then the rest. easy, yummy and delish. add some cilantro to seal the deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Wonderful as written. Also great to improvise and use what you have on hand. Today I used Costco's Mango Peach Salsa. It gave it a sweet flavor, but still a nice gentle kick. Immersion "stick" blender is so great to get it to a smooth, yet bit of textured consistency. Just blend to the texture of your liking. Sometimes I have also added carrots and corn. Even creamed corn worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I used a hot salsa and replaced the cumin with chili powder. It turned out great and will be a staple in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Wow! I made it exactly as written (except I had no green onions) and it was delicious! It made for a super easy and fast lunch soup, was only 5 Weight Watchers points per serving, and my husband and children (1 and 3 years old) wolfed it down. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiebleu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
It's a 10 minute dinner that is healthy and delicious! What's not to like? I pureed 1 can of beans, and left the other can whole. I also used chicken stock for a bit more flavor, but I'm sure it would be good with veggie stock too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States