Black Bean and Salsa Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I really liked this soup but I would make some changes... I think its too thin as it is.. either use less broth or add more beans. Also, I added cilantro and sweet peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Yum! Substituted chicken broth for veggie broth. We enjoyed this very much! And it's good for you too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I added some jalapenos that I had canned over the summer and it gave it a great kick! So EASY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I really enjoyed this but I also added the juice from one lime and garlic salt. This really could have used some crunch so the next time I will likely add some corn and possibliy an extra can of whole black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I loved how easy this was to make!! A couple of strong suggestions: 1. Add a chipotle in adobe sauce to give it a nice smoky flavor 2. Quadruple the beans! I smushed up 2 cans of beans with my blender and then added another 30 ounce can of black beans to give it texture. 3. Add ANY leftover meat you have, ie. chicken, steak, hamburger meat, to give it that extra richness. 4. Add garlic, lots of extra cumin and lime juice. 5. Garnish with plenty of cilantro, sour cream, green onions and crunched up tortilla chips 6. Double the recipe or you will be just doing it again the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This soup was great! I saved a third of the beans and put them in whole. Also, I cut the salsa amount down a third, but could hardly even tell it was there. Next time I will use the whole amount. Fast and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Very quick but tasty recipe. You can even use it as a dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I made this for the family during the cold snap. Quick and easy. Adults & kids enjoyed it. I used salsa verde and a couple of us sprinkled shredded cheese on top. I also added a little leftover red pepper tomato soup since I only had the salsa verde and wanted to have a little of the tomato that would be in normal salsa. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Very easy but tastes like it took effort. Not to mention healthy too. This will be a staple for our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
The quality of the salsa that you use will determine your finished product. Make sure that you like the taste of the salsa that you choose to use. Love this recipe! I have made it several times and it never disappoints. It is excellent for a quick and easy lunch or dinner. It can become a completely plant based meal with the omission of the sour cream. I have added some chunks of avocado to give it some of the same creaminess. Healthy and yummy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States