Black Bean and Salsa Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
What an easy weekday dinner!! A real home run!! Absolutely delicious. Don't make it in the food processor, though, because the broth leaked out all over the place!! After reading some of the reviews, I added more cumin, garlic powder, onion powder, cayenne and fresh lime juice, and the flavors really popped. Next time I will simply put the ingredients in the pot first and then use my immersion blender. What could be easier?! Definitely a keeper. Thank you AllRecipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
This soup was amazing! I took the advice of one of the reviews and added fresh lime juice, chopped garlic and fresh chopped cilantro. I added crispy fried polenta rounds to the bowl and scooped the soup over top. We rounded out the meal with sour dough toasted cheese sandwiches. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiesj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: Murrysville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
If you have a Vitamix blender you can make this in about 5 min and it will be piping hot from the blender. I like to garnish with jalapeños and green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Gore
Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I first saw this recipe in Lindsey Nixon's "The Happy Herbivore" and have made this hundreds of times! Everytime I bring it to a pot luck or dinner, people want the recipe - it's wonderful. I use more black beans and homemade vegetable broth to salsa ratio than called for and I add chili powder and more cumin. So glad to see this recipe here too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori MacIntosh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Tastes so good. Make sure you garnish with fresh cilantro at the end. Thank me later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Good as it stands, but I would give this a 3.5 if I could fine-tune the rating to that degree. Didn't have that amazing Cuban flavor...perhaps missing garlic, lime & more cumin??? Next time will only blend one can of rinsed beans and keep the other whole, will add 2 tsp garlic, double the cumin & add a little lime juice. I used a medium heat salsa & daughter thought it was too spicy; however, everyone else thought the spice was acceptable (although we all squeezed lime over the beans and rice). Use your best judgement, and definitely add garlic, more cumin and some lime juice if you are looking for a more authetic Cuban flavor. I served these with brown rice, a low-fat version of slow cooker Lechon Asado and tossed salad. Very enjoyable meal with few leftovers...try this with minor modifications & some additional Cuban food & you will have a home run for a meal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Easy recipe. Originally wasn't going to add meat but added 8 oz. chorizo. Definitely kicked it up and is perfect with cornbread on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg Cherney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This was so simple and tasty! The family loved it! I added some shredded cheddar on top before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Excellent and very simple. Easy to make but packs a lot of flavor. Huge favorite in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
This is my "go to" black bean soup. I've played around with the proportions but you can pretty much count on an easy and delicious dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina Deuskar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States