Black Bean and Salsa Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
I have low sodium needs, so used no sodium vegetable broth and found a low sodium salsa brand as well. This reduced the sodium quite a bit. I didn't use sour cream either. I always rinse canned beans three times which takes quite a bit more sodium out of them as well. I think this soup is delicious. It is hearty and filling and tasty and super, super easy to make. I love it and it will be a favorite in my rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
I will definitely make this again, but I think I will reduce the amount of salsa used as I found the taste too acidic (of course this will vary by which brand of salsa that you use). After tasting it I did add garlic. The sour cream really does add to the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
This soup is amazing!!!!! Especially if you take BANSREEPARIKH's tip of tripling the cumin, adding fresh lime juice and cilantro. It makes a world of a difference making it tatse fresh and more homemade. I've made it every week for the past 3 weeks. Everyone that's had some keeps asking when I'll be making more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flower
Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Needs some sort of meat. Chicken or ground beef would be good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Great recipe! I followed the advice of others and used dried beans for lower sodium content with one cup reserved for chunkier texture. Added the juice of one half a lime and used plain Greek yogurt instead of sour cream. Just as delicious and lower calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
This soup is amazing! I thought it would be boring and bland but I couldn't get enough. Used Chicken broth instead of vegetable. I tasted it after adding the green onions but before the sour cream and loved it so much I skipped the sour cream altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
This recipe is outstanding! I did, however, saute about 1/4 cup of diced onion till soft then added 1 clove of minced garlic to saute about 30 seconds. I used Trader Joe's organic free range chicken broth - very flavorful. Thank you Maranne for this awesome recipe. My husband and I both love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I have made this recipe three times in the last 10 days, even my picky kids eat it. the only thing I did different is that I had no salsa so I used diced tomatoes with green chilies. it gave it an extra kick. it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
So easy and I used low-sodium broth and NSA beans and thought it was still plenty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean Herman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
This is a fast and filling soup! I made a few alterations: added extra beans and chicken broth--we are a family of 5 and 4 servings just won't cut it around here. I sauteed one finely diced onion and 3 large cloves of garlic and added it to the beans and salsa. We like a bit of heat (even the 6 year old) so we used hot salsa. In addition to the cumin I added 1 TBSP of chili powder, 1 TSP of Hershey's cocoa, and a teaspoon of my secret weapon--pureed chipotle peppers in adobo sauce. I always keep a jar of this in my fridge--it gives a real jolt of flavor to anything Mexican that you make. Just open the can, run the whole thing through the blender, put it in a small jar and stash in your fridge. We sliced up 1 pound of chorizo sausage to make it substantial enough for a main course. Yummo! We served it topped with broken tortilla chips, a sprinkle of shredded cheddar cheese and a dollop of sour cream. Rave reviews all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Schaffner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States