Black Bean and Salsa Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
As is, the soup is way too watery when blended. I left one can of the beans whole and the other can I pureed. I also did not puree all of the salsa because I like it a bit more chunky. The flavor was just okay. I really wanted to like this recipe as is but it needs so much more for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterfly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Very easy to make and flavorful. I used medium fresh salsa and that added a nice kick to the soup. I used low sodium broth (150ml) and low sodium beans (250ml)to help to reduce the salt per serving. Also I wanted the soup to be vegan so I omitted the sour cream. This soup would also be good over some rice with a salad for an easy hardy lunch or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
This was good and super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashleigh Brooker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I used dry beans as that is what I had, so it took a few hours to make. It turned out fantastic. I added some jalepeno pepers and onions to it after blending and after the initial serving, I reduced it down to make a wonderful dip for chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curt B

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mitchellville, Iowa, USA
Living In: Newton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Was expecting this to be a lot better considering it's reviews! The only thing that I really liked about it is how simple and quick it was to prepare. The taste was just ok! Wouldn't make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Fritzler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
sauteed garlic and onion to add to blender. reserved 1 cup of beans to add whole. Added a can of corn, drained. Added an extra teaspoon of cumin - maybe do less next time. Added a splash of lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I followed it as written and it was a little too salty. I drained the beans, too. Next time I will add a 3rd can of beans and maybe cut the broth with some water. The salsa adds a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I made half a recipe, just in case I didn't like it. I used black bean and corn salsa. Next time I will make the full recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hanover Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Benton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Followed suggestions from other reviewers and the result was a hit! Onion, garlic & extra cumin. Excellent way to throw this soup together quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
My first ever attempt at making a soup that didn't plop out of a can, and it went terrific! Followed some of the advice here- the sherry, etc, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States