Black Bean and Salsa Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
We have used this as a beginning to a great black bean soup. We also use chicken broth instead of the veg. broth. And we add smoked ham to it, puree it with the beans and broth.Using a mild salsa can reduce the overwhelming flavor of salsa, as well as an extra can of beans. It is great! We top it with a dollop of sour cream and chopped tomatoes, and a bit of shredded cheddar. GREAT REVIEWS from family! Even the little ones will eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Brough

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
very quick and easy to make, inexpensive as well. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mélanie Lise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Fantastic, and with all of the revisions suggested by others, endlessly varied. With respect to the sodium in canned beans: Can canned beans not be rinsed, thus eliminating the saltiness?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnnpppnk

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
First time I've rated/reviewed! Fastest & yummiest soup you can imagine. I only had refried black beans; guess what--make it even easier--no blender/immersion needed. And to the misanthrope reviewers out there--especially the dummy who blamed the salsa--what made you even THINK the onions could taste cooked?? Then said it tasted good, but rated it one star. I don't get it. Chicken stock, generous w/cumin, onion powder, and garlic pepper. You just won't believe how yummy this is!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TGHEE
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
It was sooo good! Followed some review tips and substituted vegetable broth for chicken broth. I also did not purée the beans and salsa just a quick tip of the cans and salsa and it was done!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TGHEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Amazingly yummy! I cooked my own dried black beans from the store first. I also used chicken stock because it was what I had in the house. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DHeldman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
This was pretty good! I used chicken broth and about a 1/4 cup of sherry as suggested and then I only used 1/2 cup of salsa, added a clove of garlic and a teaspoon of fresh cilantro before putting in the food processor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
So simple and good. Like other reviewers I sautéed some garlic and onion first, then added the beans and a can of Rotel and the other ingredients. I used my immersion blender to smooth everything out and served with sour cream and cornbread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Fantastic. My changes... I didn't have salsa so I added 2 large/meaty tomatoes, 1 small onion, 1 large green bell pepper to the food processor. As well as 2 tsp cumin, 1 tsp garlic powder, 1 tsp chili powder, 1 tsp cilantro. I also opted to keep 1/4 of the beans whole and add to the soup as well as 1 onion diced and sauteed. I topped with shredded mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Super easy and very tasty. I used low salt/fat chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. Otherwise, I made just as recipe stated. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States