Black Bean and Salsa Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Very good and super easy and quick to make! My husband, who is a big meat eater, actually really enjoyed this soup, and he was impressed that he liked a recipe that was vegetarian! I served it with some quinoa on the side. Will be worth a repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAISYTAZZY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I was surprised at how good this was. Sort of like chili, but not. Great on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This soup is absolutely delicious - I could eat it every week! It is also super easy, inexpensive and quick to make. What could be better? Thanks for posting, Maryanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Very easy to make. Would scale back on the salsa a bit. Nice southwest/Mexican flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I enjoyed this soup, but we all thought it needed something else so topped it with a mexican blend cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Great soup and very versatile! My favorite kind of recipe! LOL! I love the fact that it can be vegan for our vegan friends. A great recipe to have in the recipe box! I chose to saute onions and garlic for more flavor; used chicken broth cause that is what I had on hand; used homemade salsa sauce (doubled); also added another can of beans (whole) as DH prefers chunks in his soup; used some homemade taco seasoning and dried chiles to taste. Have used toppings such as sour cream, cilantro, nacho cheese, and tortilla chips! Served with corn bread. Yum! Thanks Maryanne for a an easy, quick, and versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
This was an amazingly easy recipe that only took 5 minutes to prepare, with minimal ingredients, and it came out absolutely delicious. Even my husband enjoyed this and that says a lot! I did two things differently from the recipe which included adjusting the salt usage. How much salt you add is up to your personal preference. One really important thing I did differently from this recipe was to only process ¾ of the beans adding the rest in with the mixture in the sauce pan. Along with the green onions, this will give your soup texture. The sour cream will provide additional creaminess at the end. If you are looking for a quick, easy, and cheap soup recipe that is really tasty, this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Was super easy with immersion blender, served on top of seasoned rice was yummy, simple, and pretty healthy. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by destiny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This recipe is amazing as is. My whole family loves it, including my 2 year old. I use this soup as a base, and to make it really filling, after scooping it into each bowl, I add 1/2 - 1 whole avocado per bowl, some chopped cilantro, tortilla chips and sour cream. It makes this soup beyond delicious and really knocks it out of the park. My husband likes to add cheese to his as well. I've considered blending avocado and cilantro right into the soup, but haven't tried it yet. I like the chunks the cut up avocado adds to the dish when added after the soup is blended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States