Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I made with butter. I thought they were good right out of the oven, then I tried one the next day. Even better. Oh my goodness! I made sandwich cookies with these and a pumpkin cheesecake mousse. Absolutely delightful. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I agree with others who chilled this dough before getting it on the pan. I would also say that you should cook it longer than the 8-10 minutes; more like 10-12. Also flatten them out when putting on the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SumBeeCee
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Really great texture: these cookies are chewy on the outside, soft on the inside. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
These are the best cookies!I used oj in place of water. I baked about 10 min and let rest 2 min., then I removed to cooling rack. I made an icing of confectionary sugar with OJ and drizzle tops- they were eaten quickly...I did not have to chill-they easily rolled into balls and then the sugar to bake on pan. Its a easy recipe and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
These cookies are delicious! I put my dough in the freezer for a few minutes before rolling them into balls, & between rolling each batch. Made the dough easier to handle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
These were pretty good! I've made them 3 times, every time with butter: 1) I made as directed and they were sticky and way too sweet! I had rolled them in sugar. I had chilled them as other people had suggested and didn't really think it had an effect. They were hard as rocks after baking so I had them dipped in my tea. They had excellent flavour though, so I knew I was going to make them again with some alterations. 2) I reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup of sugar and omitted the water. Tasted delicious and were softer! But didn't really flatten out or crinkle nicely around the edges. I didn't chill them this time. Also had the oven at 375 3) I kept the sugar at 3/4 cups, still left out the water, but added slightly more butter, Like 7/8ths of a cup. Oven at 375. I rolled them about 1.5 inch balls and did not flatten. Still didn't chill and this time they are perfect! Is definitely a keeper now that I have perfected the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alanna Groen
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I LOVE these cookies! I make them every fall and make them into ice cream sandwiches with homemade Pumpkin ice cream. They're divine! I do add a bit of finely chopped candied ginger to mine, and next time I'll try to orange juice suggested by other reviewers. After this, you never need another Ginger Cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I may need to make a second batch, as I don't know if there'll be enough left in two days' time. I will reduce the sugar a bit next time I make them, but they're excellent. I used an inch wide cookie dough scoop to drop the dough directly in the sugar, didn't flatten them, as I didn't read that far ahead in the recipe, and they spread out very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Very good cookie! In fact, I had to give them away so I wouldn't eat them all. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 3,809) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States