Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Rachael Callahan
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I have made these a few times. Try using 2 1/3 cups flour instead of 2 1/4 cups, and a smidgen more baking soda, and you should have no problem rolling the cookies. It also helped the cookies stay fluffy after baking. I made smaller cookies (little smaller than walnut) and there turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael Callahan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
First time making these cookies and they are going to be our all-time favorite ginger cookies!! I followed the recipe exactly (except used butter instead of margarine) and they came out perfect. I didn't refrigerate them and yes, they spread out just a little bit but nothing to be negative about. I used a cookie scoop so all the cookies were the same size and didn't get my fingers all sticky! They have been out of the oven for about 15 minutes and they are already 1/2 gone! Thank you for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
This was my first time making cookies and they came out absolutely delicious! I cannot wait to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jose A. Guzman

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
These have been a big hit at any cookie exchange I have brought them to. They freeze well if you want to make them ahead too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Very good basic cookie. The last time I made them I baked 1/2 the batch a bit longer as my husband like a crispy cookie and they turned out very well that way too. I also like to roll them in sugar before baking and sprinkle with drops of water. Sounds funny but it gives them a very pretty look and adds a hint of crunch to the outside while still soft inside. Yummy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I tried this recipe . Going by some of the other reviews I did a couple of things of my own. I used "I can't Believe its not butter all-purpose baking sticks" instead of margarine , I never use margarine . Then I added just a little extra flour about 3 handfuls which probably equaled out to about 3/4-1 cup extra and my cookies turned out great..real good and picture perfect had no problems at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tina maynard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
The most delicious ginger cookies. Molasses and cloves do their thing for the extra flavor. Better double the recipe ~ gone in a jiffy! Easy recipe and a real hit with friends. I fill tins as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Wahhh this recipe was a fail. I rarely have baking fails so I was horrified to see what happened here. The only changes I made were subbing OJ for water and chilling the dough overnight, then thawing for maybe 30 minutes before trying to roll it into balls... They came out super thin and cakey and all melted together. The taste was nice, but I just threw them all out which made me sad :( I would recommend chilling before rolling the dough balls but just suck it up and do it while they are hard - don't thaw or they'll be too soft and melt in the oven rather than baking up nice and firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
These are really good. Amazing. And without complicated ingredients. I had everything in my pantry. Ideal for cooking on the snowy day outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
these came out perfect. delicious. soft and I even added a little more ginger. I used butter instead of margarine because I don't use margarine. these made it to my fave cookie top 3 list for sure! yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 3,883) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States