Big Al's K.C. Bar-B-Q Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I'm trying to put my finger on this one... When I made it the night before, it had a TON of flavor, you could taste all the spices in it right as I finished cooking it and was bottling it to sit in the fridge overnight. When I took it out today and was serving it, it was missing a lot of that flavor that I tasted last night when I cooked it. Last night, it had all the sweetness and flavor you're looking in a good BBQ sauce, and then when you least expected it, it kicked you. Today, it missed a lot of that flavor. Don't know why, but it did... I'll have to try it again and see what happened (or didn't happen).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy Finger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
this BBQ sauce is AMAZING!! Made pulled bbq chicken with it in the crock pot and it was to die for. Will definitely be making more and bottling it, instead of buying store bough bottles of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
this was a really good bbq sauce. i started out following the recipe as it was printed (i think it's very important to follow the recipe if your going to rate it) and i liked it, but in the end i tweeked it just a little to suit my taste. i give it 4 stars as it was written, and 5 stars after i was finished. very good recipe. thanks big al for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Excellent sauce. I used this for a recent rib off and everyone loved the sauce. This will be a staple in my fridge. I can't wait to try it on some pulled pork or chicken! Thanks for the recipe. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
A bit too tangy. Will have to cut back on vinegar by the extra 1/4 cup and see if that helps. I had to double the garlic and onion and chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Nice and Tangy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
We love this sauce for its smoky flavor and thickness! I usually don't even cook it--just mix the ingredients together and brush it on meat on the grill or ribs in the oven. Lots of ingredients, but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
If there were more stars, I'd give this sauce recipe more stars! I did add just a few drops of Tabasco Sauce to give it a tiny bit more zing, but other than that, used the recipe as is. It's an incredible rib and chicken sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This was awesome!! I made a brisket today and ran to the store to pick up some ingredients. I ran threw the store picking up random spices and a few other things. I came home a did a quick search and this recipe came up. Having almost 900 ratings, I had to try it. While I did not have all the necessary ingredients I left out the cayenne and celery seed's. I did not have red wine vinegar so I used cider vinegar. I drenched my freshly cooked brisket sandwich and boy was it good. This is my first review after browsing for a few years! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
LOVE BIG AL'S!!! I haven't bought a bottle of bar-b-q sauce in months. For us it's the perfect balance of sweet and heat. Thanks for this recipe, it is now a staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Disodo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 908) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States