Big Al's K.C. Bar-B-Q Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This sauce is delicious. I've simplified the process a bit for my family, and now we never are without fresh ketchup and bbq sauce. First off I make a double-triple, sometimes quadruple batch of "In a pinch ketchup" from this site. I make it directly in my blender, reducing the amount of water so I don't have to boil it down at all. I make a few healthy substitutions (in both recipes). For example, sucanat instead of brown sugar, omit the corn syrup, omit butter (from bbq sauce recipe), etc. I scoop out some ketchup into a jar until there's 2 c. left in the blender, I then add all the bbq ingredients (again, I adjust for our tastes), and just blend for 1-2 minutes, jar it up, and stick it in the fridge. At the end of the day, I have fresh ketchup, fresh bbq sauce, one blender and a few measuring utensils to wash. I have NEVER noticed a difference since I stopped cooking it. We go through at least a batch a month! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
really good sauce. I will be using this again. yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Minor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canby, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
This sauce is excellent. Better than KC Masterpice, which I consider the standard for commercially produced BBQ sauce. Fits in 2 quart-sized mason jars. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sammyrasp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Best damned BBQ sauce I have ever had, restaurant, store-bought, or home-made. Excellent. Do yourself a favor and make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Fantastic BBQ sauce. I make it just as written, but simmer for closer to 40-60 min as I like it thicker. I freeze half and keep the other half in the fridge. It makes a lot, but we get through it all because it's so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Made this delish recipe today.. Yum!!! I modified it slightly(1 1/4 c.cider Vinegar and 1 1/2 c. dark brown sugar)I also substituted Mesquite Smoke flavoring for the hickory. It came out amazing and is so tasty and thick. I actually canned 8 quarts of the sauce as we use a lot of bbq sauce in my household. I'm hooked on this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Absolutely amazing! Sweet with a slight kick to it. I made this to go with a shredded chicken BBQ. I wish I had doubled the recipe. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
You're quest for great sauce has just ended. You won't be sorry! Thanks Big Al
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I made it almost exactly as written in the receipt, the only exception was I was out of celery seed, so I used celery salt instead of the celery seed and salt. I was really glad I waited to taste it after it had simmered for a while because the sweetness really came through nicely. It was thick, and made quite a bit, I'll definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Martinsville, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Clinton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Great recipe used on baby back ribs. I cut the recipe in half, used rice vinegar instead of wine vinegar (didn't have wine vinegar), added 1 1/2 tsp of maple syrup and 1 1/2 tsp of Worcestershire sauce to the recipe. Consistency was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 918) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States