Big Al's K.C. Bar-B-Q Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
You're quest for great sauce has just ended. You won't be sorry! Thanks Big Al
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I made it almost exactly as written in the receipt, the only exception was I was out of celery seed, so I used celery salt instead of the celery seed and salt. I was really glad I waited to taste it after it had simmered for a while because the sweetness really came through nicely. It was thick, and made quite a bit, I'll definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Martinsville, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Clinton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Great recipe used on baby back ribs. I cut the recipe in half, used rice vinegar instead of wine vinegar (didn't have wine vinegar), added 1 1/2 tsp of maple syrup and 1 1/2 tsp of Worcestershire sauce to the recipe. Consistency was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
We LOVE this recipe--I keep it mostly as written, yet we don't use ketchup as it is full of high fructose corn syrup. Instead, I add one can of drained, diced, chili-ready tomatoes and onions, and a 14.5 0z can of tomato sauce, blend all in blender or food processor, and then put in a crock so it can simmer all day as the meat smokes. It is thick, and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by headoverfeet

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
This was so yummy. I had to use half balsamic vinegar because I ran out of the red wine vinegar but still it is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This is my first time making BBQ sauce and I am glad I did. Made this recipe exactly as written, except I added 1/2 tsp dried mustard, only 1/3 cup mollasses, and 3 teaspoons of liquid smoke because my husband and I aren't big on strong smokey taste. This is a nice taste of tomato/sweet/spicy/smoky/tangy goodness. I will make this again, but next time I will add only 2 tsp. liquid smoke as I think this would be good for our taste. VERY YUMMY...thx for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodygirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
VERY GOOD!!! WILL MAKE IT AGAIN AND AGAIN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Nobody does it better than Kansas City. This is quality stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefDodderidge
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Way too vinegary. Tried it twice as directed (except didn't have liquid smoke) but still tasted way too much vinegar. Sauce a bit too runny also. Has potential but needs major changes. Won't try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Yum. Used pure maple syrup instead of molasses and crushed fresh tomatoes rather than tomato sauce. Maybe a touch too vinegary for my taste, but still delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 911) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States