Big Al's K.C. Bar-B-Q Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Oh my word !! This is awesome!!! It's on the stove right now and MAN! Sooo good! Thank you so much for the recipe! It's going on tomorrow nights ribs YUM! Can't wait. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by live2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beamsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Used Worcester shire sauce instead of liquid smoke because we were doing the ribs & chicken thighs on the grill with wood chips. After checking reviews, used peanut oil instead of butter (for table time) & left out celery seed. GREAT!! To answer one re viewer's question: back when it was do hard to find all natural foods, I had a young son who has hyper kinetic & could not tolerate additives, preservatives, artificial floors & colors, etc. He wanted ketchup for hot fries & burgers like his older brother so I tried to make some. Close but no cigar -- uuntil I found a recipe in a really old cookbook I picked up in a used book store (already really old when i got it back in the'70 lol). The one ingredient that makes ketchup taste like ketchup is -- tahdah!) Cinnamon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I've made this a dozen times and it is hands down the BEST BBQ sauce ever. It always gets rave reviews!!! A perfect mix of sweet & spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I am sorry, I don't understand why this is so popular. Personal preference, I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Better than any store bought. Awesome flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
This recipe is soooo good, I did tweak it a little, I cut the brown sugar by 1/2 cup and used raw apple cider vinegar. It added a little zip and heat, like I said soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Scaled it back to 12 servings and doubled the spices (except salt)...awesome BBQ sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Made this tonight, delicious! I did make a few very minor adjustments to accommodate our taste. I slightly decreased the cayenne powder, black pepper and the salt. I didn't have enough red wine vinegar so I used about 3/4 cup red wine vinegar and topped it off with white vinegar. I didn't add the amount suggested in the recipe though, I like more sweet than tangy as far as sauce goes. I also added a few teaspoons of Worcestershire sauce, about 1 1/2 tablespoons of regular yellow mustard, 1/4 cup more brown sugar and 1/4 cup of honey. I thought the flavor was mediocre before my adjustments,and was too tart for our taste. There wasn't any ingredient that I left out, I just added. After my changes this recipe was OUTSTANDING!!! Will save this one and make a lot this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Pecbot Brown

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Soooo good! I will never buy BBQ sauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
My husband LOVES this bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Kimball

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 906) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States