Best Spanish Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This is the best Spanish rice recipe on this site! I don't understand why people don't follow the direction to saute the rice! This is not supposed to be a "sticky rice" like Puerto Rican or Chinese rice, but that's what you'll get if you don't saute it first. I don't agree that you should brown it.... it should turn translucent, but not brown. If you are adding fresh garlic, add it after sauteing the rice and only cook it long enough for it to release it's aroma..don't brown it-it will turn bitter. After you add the liquid, bring the rice to a full, rolling boil before turning it down to low and putting the lid on. Also, make sure you have a tight fitting lid...cover it with foil to make it tighter if necessary. Don't peek while the rice it cooking! After 20 minutes move it off the heat and let it "rest" another 5 minutes. If you do these things you will have purfect rice! Even though I ususally use homemade salsa, I think the Pace "Make Mine Medium" gives the right amount of heat and flavor to the dish. Thanks for a great recipe that everyone can master and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2679 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
HELPFUL TIPS NOT MENTIONED: I've tried all the other recipes on this site & decided this is the best! I like using salsa more than diced tomatoes b/c it has more flavor and spice ...and it doesn't taste like you just dumped salsa in it like I expected. This is only for my family of 4, so I use 3/4C of uncooked rice, definitely a little more than half a tablespoon of olive oil (full recipe calls for too much), with 3/4 of the can of chicken broth (approx 1 1/2C), BUT still use 1C of salsa as I feel it's necessary, as well as a few dashes of pepper. I only brown rice a few minutes longer after it's turned WHITE (very apparent white color). Being Asian myself, I could cook rice w/my eyes closed it seems. lol Many times we don't add onions b/c I'm too lazy to dice them. If we do, it definitely needs more than suggested or it's pointless adding. It's even better when you add diced green & red peppers to the rice you are browning or use green onion instead of white/red. We eat the rice every time we make "Whit's Chicken Enchiladas" which is SUPER EASY and YUMMY! This takes less time than indicated for the rice to be done. Also great to put in baking dish, add cheese, and bake at 350 until it melts! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1325 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
I made this spanish rice for Xmas Eve Dinner, it was excellent. However I did have to add some water & let it simmer a little longer to get the rice done. I added just 1/4 tsp. chili powder to it. My cousin who is a chef said, "it's perfect". That ought to tell you something. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1262 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Delicious results for minimal effort. I prepared this as written except for using butter rather than vegetable oil. This worked perfectly with our chicken enchiladas and Frijoles a la Charra. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
I made this yesterday to go with the Mexican Theme of my son and husband's birthday party dinner. I modified it for a large group and used 6 cups chicken broth, 1 1/2 cups picante sauce and 4 cups rice. I did have to add about 2 cups more water since the rice was still a little chewy after cooking down. I then just added garlic and onion powder to it, spread it in a 9x13 baking pan and sprinkled mexican blend cheese over the top and put in the oven for about 15 min till the cheese was melted. this was sooo good and sooo easy to make! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
Delicious & Easy! Best Spanish rice I have ever made. I think even better than our local mexican restaurant. I added about 2 & 1/2 C. chicken broth. Either need to do that or cut rice from 1 & 1/2 C. down to 1 C. Also, did not brown rice as read reviews saying made it too crunchy. I sauteed onions and then added broth, rice, and salsa and cooked slowly so that rice would be soft. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
tastey! i used pace picante sauce (salsa) and 1/2 brown rice and 1/2 white. Next time, i'll use all brown rice since it is so much healthier for you! We couldn't taste the dirty bland-ness of brown rice at all, the flavor was perfect. One thing to change however- it takes about 30 mins or so to simmer! It was the last part of our dinner to finish. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bhappe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
This is a GREAT base for spanish rice. I love the idea of cooking it in chicken broth! However I do make a few changes. I use enchilada sauce instead of salsa-just about 1/2 of a small can. ( I usually make this with my enchiladas so I have it on hand) I also add cumin which is ESSENTIAL and green chiles. I also add a little cayenne, but that is just my preference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
Finally -- a recipe for Spanish rice that tastes just like the stuff we love at our favorite Mexican restaurants! I've tried lots of recipes and boxed brands, but this is by far the most easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
Delicious!!! Use a name brand salsa, such as Pace, instead of a cheap brand. Add more broth if necessary. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,512) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States