Best Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
I took the reviews advice and added twice the called for garlic and ginger and also added soy sauce as many said these were bland. They were fantastic and very easy to put together! I also used another recommendation and used the cole slaw mix (carrots and cabbage) and this recipe took no time to put together. I have many children and this recipe was a hit with all of them! I will definately be making this again, and again and ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
549 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Original review 12/20/06 These were sooo good. It's really hard to find decent Chinese food around here so I made my own. I made a few changes. Doubled the ginger & garlic powder, & used 4 cups of shredded coleslaw mix. I sauteed the cabbage mixture a little in 2T water & 2T soy sauce then added the pork & 1/2 t. chinese five spices. I used 1/3 C filling for the inside. We made 11 eggrolls not 8. Peanut oil is rather expensive which no one mentioned, I might try a different oil next time to save a few bucks. I found the egg roll wrappers in the produce section near the vegetables if anyone else had trouble find them, ( I looked in the Asian section initially then had to ask a store employee). My husband LOVED these. I served them with Fried Rice Restaurant Style & Broccoli Beef I from this site. Thank you! Edit 12/10/12 This is how I now make these: Doubled the ginger & garlic powder, & used 16 oz bag of shredded coleslaw mix in the filling. I sauteed the cabbage mixture a little in 2 T water & 2 T soy sauce then added the pork & 1 t. Chinese five spices. I used 1/3 C filling for the inside. We make 15 eggrolls. We brush them with vegetable oil then bake them on a sheet pan at 425 degrees for 20 mins, turning over after 10 mins. Much healthier to bake them & less of a hassle than frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
479 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
This recipe is excellent. We were a little concerned because some of the reviews said the egg rolls were bland. We made no modifications to it, and it was outstanding. Our guests were very impressed. We made an extra dozen and froze them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
337 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
These are the easiest egg rolls I have ever made, and they are tasty. Next time I would add a little more seasoning to the filling. I also used a bag of cole slaw. i JUST MADE THESE AGAIN AND I USED SPICY PORK SAUSAGE VERY GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
These were the first egg rolls I've ever made and I must say they were impressive. Instead of chopping everthing up (carrots, etc.) I bought a bag of coleslaw mix and used that. They were delicious, but they are not very "jazzy." To quote Emeril, "You gotta kick these up a notch or two." We experimented and added hot sauce to the mix, and next time (we WILL make them again) we are going to add garlic, etc. We don't like things crazy spicey but these egg rolls as is are just way too bland. We give the author 4 stars because we never would have made these without her help and ideas. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
These are great, although after making them a few times, I would recommend using canola oil to fry them in. I got a much crispier egg roll using that instead of peanut oil. Also, I added scrambled eggs, and extra cabbage. Beware, this recipe makes a lot of filling!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
These are good. I tried them with Lumpia Wrappers instead of egg roll wrappers and they were even better! The lumpia wrappers come out nice and crispy the way my kids like them. Lumpia wrappers are hard to find, check asian markets for them. They are much thinner than eggroll wrappers and look a bit like an egg crepe. They fry up very crispy sort of like Filo does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
Good egg rolls but I think I'll have to play around with some spices to make it taste better. Possibly lemon pepper seasoning. Also, instead of chopping up cabbage and carrots, I used 2 cups worth of pre-shredded cole slaw...same results and saves on time. I'll try these again to see if I can find the right spice combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
My best friend and I made these one night.They were so great! My children are 2 and 5. They loved them. We did add lemon pepper, soy sauce and minced garlic to the pork when browning the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
This is a good basic egg roll recipe. I like to add a little soy sauce to the veggies while they're cooking, along with garlic and onion powder. You can add anything you like to spice up the filling. Once fryed, we like to dip these babies into vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States