Best Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This recipe was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
The best egg rolls I've ever eaten were made with mung bean sprouts and some cabbage and a good amount of black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Cheaper and better than takeout. The recipe was ok but I use fresh ginger and garlic and add some hoisin sauce, sesame oil, green onions and soy sauce to the ground pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Had to add couple tbs of soysauce and teriaki sauce to it inside filling. Also added onion I also added egg to the inside that made it slightly better. These are definitely better the next day because the cabbage is more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktylizbth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I used this recipe as the basic plan for my egg rolls and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandyCWV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Very easy, very yummy! My whole family loved them. My husband said they were the best he's every had. I shredded the cabbage vs using the slicer on my processor. It gave them a finer texture which my family liked compared to the stringy cabbage from take out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I am writing this while still chewing my first homemade egg roll. Even those I am an extremely experienced cook, I have to admit I've been afraid to make them myself. I purchased some store bought pork dumplings which were very tasty, but really expensive for what I got. So I decided to try my hand at them so that I could eat as many as I want. I made my first bath of potstickers and was not impressed with my results. When I purchase the dumpling skins I purchased egg roll wrappers too and thought I'd give it the old college try. I followed this recipe and some of the suggestions of other reviewers - add a little soy sauce, and about a cup of bean sprouts. After I cooked the meat I added the remaining ingredients to the skillet and cooked down any of the water coming out of the cabbage, then I rolled and fried them. Heaven! I was so excited they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Absolutely NO flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Used shredded cabbage and added fresh garlic, a little more ginger and some soy sauce. Pan-fried with just a little bit of oil- AWESOME! Entire family loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CASADEE
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
These egg rolls are the best I've had. I used minced garlic from a container you buy at the store instead of the powder. I also used a package of coleslaw for the cabbage and carrots, made it much easier. I mixed the cabbage in with the meat after it was cook to help make the rolling easier. I also added about 1 tablespoon soy sauce to the meat mixture as other reviews suggested as well. I tried deep frying, frying in a skillet with a little oil and baking in the oven. I found that deep frying them make them very greasy. baking in the oven made the egg roll wrapper rubbery. Frying in the skillet with just a little oil was the best, they weren't too oily and were still crunchy. I've made these with both the seasoned sausage and plain ground sausage and I prefer the plain. These rolls are very meaty and with the seasoned sausage it was just too over powering. I uploaded a picture of one of the egg rolls I made picture #26. It shows you the inside of the roll so you can see how meaty these guys are. I was thinking about adding more cabbage, but my family protested saying they liked them the way they are, nice and meaty. I made Sweet and Sour Sauce II from this site to go with these egg rolls and it was the best sweet and sour sauce too! I will differently be making these over and over again! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Irish Egg Rolls

Terrific fried appetizer with corned beef, cabbage and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States