Best Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
The recipe as written was bland, so we bunched it up a bit. First, we cooked the ground pork in a combo of garlic, salt, ginger, and chinese 5 spice. Then when the pork was almost cooked, we tossed in the cabbage and carrots, and stiry fried until the flavors were well intergraded and the cabbage translucent. Then we assembled the eggrolls sans the flour paste, using water on our fingertips instead to seal the eggrolls and they came out perfect. I wanted to add some salad shrimp to give it a little more flavor, but we'll save that for the next time. It's a good "starter" recipe to jump off from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Since everyone in my family loves egg rolls, I decided to try my hand at making them at home, and I'm glad I did. I made them according to the recipe the first time,from then on, I improvise with what I have on hand. I never have peaunut oil, so I just use canola, even though peanut would be better, just too expensive. I also love to use fresh minced ginger and seasame oil. Since chicken has been cheaper these days, I poach a breast and shred. There are so many variations you can try, once you know the technique on how to make them. My family loves them with homemade egg drop soup. I have also used any left -over stuffing to make fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by indyjazzd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thorntown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
My family loves these and they are super easy! I do add more garlic powder and ginger. Also add soy sauce. To make it super easy use a bag of coleslaw mix. Dinner or snack in no time flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cueball869

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Didn't think homemade could taste this good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Hanson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Great recipe,tried it over 10 years ago. Now it's a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joiedevie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Very easy to make. A trick for cooking this recipe in oil: put in 3 at a time to cook fast. I let the meat rest a night, and made it easy to do the dishes! I was planning to make the wrappers, but I didn't want a huge mess. This is a recipe that doesn't make more than 8 if you use a 1/4 of a cup for the carrots, lettuce/cabbage, and meat mixutre. Good for parties with knowing it came from you kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I made this tonight but did a few changes . I used minced garlic, Added 2 Tablespoon Soy Sauce, 1/2 tsp Salt 1/2 tsp Pepper ( probably could add more seasoning to taste. I didn't want to over do it the first time) and 1/2 onion. Did not made flour paste just used water. I also Baked them at 400 for about 14 minutes. Baking them won't be as crispy as frying but I am staying with the healthier route. Served with Sweet and Sour Sauce.. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
These were ok. I didn't like the ground pork, it was too much like ground beef. I think next time i would use pork strips marinated in ahso sauce. Also I felt like it needed more seasoning, I also made vegetarian eggrolls using this as a base recipe but I added the ginger and garlic to the cabbage and carrots. I also added a tsp of soy sauce to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
These are WONDERFUL! I also used a bag of colesaw and 2 tsp garlic, 2 tsp ginger, 3 tsp soy sauce and 1 tsp seasame oil. They are absolutely amazing! using 1/3 cup measuring cup it made 15 egg rolls! Plan to freeze and warm up when we have chinese for supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Thank You Awesome Recipe, Exactly what I was looking for.... I will change up a little by Baking instead of frying the eggrolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 413) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Irish Egg Rolls

Terrific fried appetizer with corned beef, cabbage and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States