Best Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by CASADEE
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
These egg rolls are the best I've had. I used minced garlic from a container you buy at the store instead of the powder. I also used a package of coleslaw for the cabbage and carrots, made it much easier. I mixed the cabbage in with the meat after it was cook to help make the rolling easier. I also added about 1 tablespoon soy sauce to the meat mixture as other reviews suggested as well. I tried deep frying, frying in a skillet with a little oil and baking in the oven. I found that deep frying them make them very greasy. baking in the oven made the egg roll wrapper rubbery. Frying in the skillet with just a little oil was the best, they weren't too oily and were still crunchy. I've made these with both the seasoned sausage and plain ground sausage and I prefer the plain. These rolls are very meaty and with the seasoned sausage it was just too over powering. I uploaded a picture of one of the egg rolls I made picture #26. It shows you the inside of the roll so you can see how meaty these guys are. I was thinking about adding more cabbage, but my family protested saying they liked them the way they are, nice and meaty. I made Sweet and Sour Sauce II from this site to go with these egg rolls and it was the best sweet and sour sauce too! I will differently be making these over and over again! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
as it stands, this recipe would be pretty mediocre. but as most reviewers have said, with the proper seasonings it's pretty tasty. i added garlic and teriyaki sauce to the cabbage/carrots and let them saute a bit. i used vegan chicken instead of pork and an orange sauce for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terese The Novelist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Make it even easier. I use a bag of premade cole slaw mix from my grocer's fridge. Just don't put in the dressing! Saves so much time and tastes just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
The name of this recipe fits it completely. I made them for dinner tonight and they are the best that I have ever had! I altered it slightly by adding finely chopped green onions and water chestnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Wonderful recipe.. however, I never make egg rolls without adding some Chinese Five Spice blend. For those who feel there's not enough flavour, try it. I also use grated fresh ginger & garlic. I've served these to Asian friends and even they have asked for my recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lightedway
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Love these. This recipe is easy to follow and versatile. I used roast pork instead of ground. Fried in veggie oil. Added green onions and 2 Tbs of Oyster Sauce to the pork mixture. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Ratio of meat to cabbage was way off. We added a lot to make this work. During the cooking I got curious so I looked up other egg roll recipies on other sites and decided to doubled the cabbage, added soy sauce, added some scrambled egg, etc. Still seemed like too much pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
these really were the best egg rolls and were so easy to make...I didn't add sesame seeds at the end and did add alfalfa sprouts to the cabbage mixture but they were still awesome!!! My family and co-workers are already requesting for me to make them again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chinesefoodlover

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Excellent! Not 5 stars, because I did make some changes. I used fresh ginger, instead of dried. I also doubled the pork mix, and then split it in 2 bowls. In 1, I used a coleslaw bagged mix, in the other a broccoli slaw bagged mix. Then, I sprinkled some soy into each bowl, maybe a Tbs, and some sesame oil, maybe a Tsp. Used canola oil. These are so easy and SO delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaBird+3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Maine, USA
Living In: Vassalboro, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Delicious! Very fresh tasting. I ground my own pork and find frying pretty hot is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 406) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States