Best Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
These brownies are magnificent!!! I mean "melt in your mouth" and I didn't even make the frosting. I doubled the recipe and it still won't be enough. There are a few tips that will ensure your brownies are not cakey. I do not use a mixer because you can overmix your batter and whip too much air into the eggs. This makes your brownies have a cakey texture. Mix everything by hand in a bowl and lightly beat your eggs before adding them to the mixture. Gently stirring everything together makes them turn out better as opposed to franticly beating the mixture. Hope this helps, because I will NEVER buy brownie mix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5305 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Phenix City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
I doubled the recipe and made a 9x13 pan of these brownies for a party, and everybody loved them! I also entered them in my local county fair and won first place. The problem with the frosting is that you need to halve the amount of powdered sugar and melt the butter. This makes a glaze that you can spread on top. It hardens into a beautiful, shiny frosting. I thought some of the info in the reviews was conflicting, so here's the scoop: 1. These are neither "cake" brownies nor "fudge" brownies; they fall somewhere in between. If you must have one or the other, then this recipe is not for you. 2. Yes, the frosting is sweet. If you like frosting, then add it, if not, leave it off. 3. Yes, these are homemade brownies and do not taste like boxed brownie mix. I can't understand why anyone would prefer a mix to homemade, but if that's your thing, then stick with the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3523 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
These are great! I changed the recipe to make them better for you. I used 1/2 c. applesauce instead of butter and 1/2 cup Equal spoonfuls and 1/2 cup sugar instead of 1 cup sugar and used egg substitute and omitted the glaze. They ended up with only 45 calories apiece and 0 grams of fat! they were SOOOO GOOOD!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2462 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
Brownies... What comes to mind? Hard...chewy... These brownies... What comes to mind? Soft...cakelike... These were baaaaad.......why must all these brownie recipes result in cake squares? I wish I could say different for this supposedly "best brownie" recipe, but I can't. If you are looking for the traditional delicious brownie Grandma used to make, run, run away and never come back! These were just like a cake. Be aware: These are not the BEST brownies...these are the BEST cake squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1250 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bakedbyjen
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
These were the BEST BROWNIES even without the frosting. Just don't OVERBAKE/OVERMIX. When doubling, leave out one egg, keep the amount of salt at 1/4 tsp, and bake for 30-35 mins. You'll get a cakey on the outside, fudgey in the middle brownie. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1035 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Wonderful little brownie! Not too thick, not too thin, just right! Comes together and into the oven in less than 5 minutes. I added about 1 additional T. of cocoa. Just mix all ingredients with a wooden spoon in the same pan as you melted the butter, about 50 strokes, just until good and combined. The frosting is glossy and smooth if you melt the butter first and add about 1 T. each of corn syrup and half and half. Cutting these with a plastic knife, even the disposable tableware variety, works great! Cuts cleanly, and not a crumb sticks to the knife. Had to try 3 of the brownies as soon as they were cooled, just to be triply sure they were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
759 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
Worth a try, very easy recipe yielding above average brownies. When the recipe says not to overcook, don't...depending on your oven 25 minutes is probably long enough. They may not look done, but they continue to cook/settle when removed. Also, I had to add an egg to the frosting recipe because I ended up with chocolate sawdust without it (even using electric blender). Some folks also mentioned adding milk (1 Tblsp ?) because of this which would also work I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
385 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
These are the BEST!!! I never made homemade brownies before and these came out PERFECT! They're fudgy and delicious, the icing is sooooo good too! I took the advice of one reviewer and heated the icing..it was perfect! I made them for a 4th of July picnic and they were a HUGE hit! They were gone in 15 minutes. Everyone loved them and asked me for the recipe! I doubled the recipe to fit a 9X13" pan. They were GREAT! Even if you're not a very good cook, these brownies will come out delicious! I recommend them to everyone! I'll never make brownies from a box again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
319 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2000
These were the worst brownies I have ever had! The frosting was way too sweet and did'nt go well with the brownies at all. My husband hated them, and wouldn't even finish them. He told me to throw them away. Sorry, hopefully you will like them better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
278 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Many moons ago I worked in a Duncan Hines test kitchen and have made up to 20 batches of brownies a day and let me say this is a good, easy recipe for homemade brownies; great chocolatey flavor. I would suggest: 1) Slightly whip (with fork) the eggs to make them homogenous first before adding them to the pan's other ingredients. 2) Whisk your dry ingredients, flour, cocoa, salt and baking powder, together first before adding them to the pan. No need to beat with mixer. A wooden spoon to mix the batter until everything is wet works just fine. I used the frosting recipe which was very fudge-like and thick. I added just a smidgen of water to thin it out to make it at least somewhat spreadable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 6,499) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

MMMMM... Brownies

These chocolate brownies from scratch are easy, moist, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States