Best Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I made this and found the description to be accurate. It's a little cakey but mostly fudgey. I didn't make he frosting as I like brownies without. The other suggestions to not over beat or over bake are spot on, I think. Easy to whip up even on short notice. I used an odd sized pan (about 8 1/2x8") and only baked 15 min and the brownies came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I've been using this recipe for YEARS, only mine is slightly different; beat sugar, vanilla and eggs with a mixer. Add melted butter, I just melt mine in micro. Combine dry ingredients, add to batter and mix well. Bake, test with a toothpick. Here is the biggest difference; cool the brownies and frost with the frosting, but don't use honey, use 1 teaspoon of instant coffee granules and warm water... 3 T melted butter 3 T cocoa 2 T warm water 1 teaspoon instant coffee granules 1 1/2 cups confectioners sugar Combine all, then stir in c sugar until smooth, add additional warm water if necessary in very small increments. Frost brownies, cover and let frosting set several hours. It really makes a difference, it will turn into a shiny glaze like icing! I always double everything and bake in a 9 x 13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I have to admit I was thrown off when I first pulled the brownies out of the oven because it was raised in the center and fluffy like a cake, but I frosted it and let it cool before I tried them and man, I had nothing to be worried about! These brownies are delicious and the frosting really elevated the brownies to a new level! I did add chocolate chips to the batter when I made it, which all sunk to the bottom and created a sort of chocolate chip crust, if you will, but I can tell these brownies would be just as fudgey and delicious without them! I'm so pleased with this recipe that I've added it to my recipe book and won't be looking for a new one anymore! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Awesome. I made the brownies to the letter of the recipe. Middle rack, 350 for 25 mins. They were perfect. I added about a tbsp of heavy cream to the frosting just for a tiny bit of lift. 5 stars all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tuna Tuesday

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
These brownies are amazing and really easy to make. I'm sixteen, and when I have movie night with my friends we always bake these. They're simple, delicious and quick! My only tip (that isn't in the recipe) is to add chocolate chips. Any kind (peanut butter, white chocolate, milk chocolate, etc) and REMEMBER TO HAVE SOME SORT OF NON-STICK (pam, etc)! I always forget and its a pain to have to unstick brownies :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Amazing brownies, wonderful chocolatey taste. I will definetly be making them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
First time making brownies from scratch! Way better then any box and just as easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
These brownies are extremely dry and I even added chocolate morsels. They say not to over cook. Just eat the batter and don't even bother cooking. I had to give it one star or I could not post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Way too sweet & greasy for me. Used the mentioned sugar & butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mahek
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Me and my brother had a competition on who could make better brownies. I made brownies from scratch and he made from the box mixes. And on the first bite I literally couldn't explain that feeling. This brownie is soooo perfect and gooey and just perfect in all means.. My brownie is a bit dark cause I use special dark cocoa but I added a pinch of sugar and I also added milk to balance over the flavor.. Always taste your batter!! YOU HAVE TO MAKE THIS!! The frosting is also delicious.. But I wouldn't add too much, since the brownie is also perf w/ out it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 5,999) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States