Best Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
These brownies are magnificent!!! I mean "melt in your mouth" and I didn't even make the frosting. I doubled the recipe and it still won't be enough. There are a few tips that will ensure your brownies are not cakey. I do not use a mixer because you can overmix your batter and whip too much air into the eggs. This makes your brownies have a cakey texture. Mix everything by hand in a bowl and lightly beat your eggs before adding them to the mixture. Gently stirring everything together makes them turn out better as opposed to franticly beating the mixture. Hope this helps, because I will NEVER buy brownie mix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4818 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Phenix City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
I doubled the recipe and made a 9x13 pan of these brownies for a party, and everybody loved them! I also entered them in my local county fair and won first place. The problem with the frosting is that you need to halve the amount of powdered sugar and melt the butter. This makes a glaze that you can spread on top. It hardens into a beautiful, shiny frosting. I thought some of the info in the reviews was conflicting, so here's the scoop: 1. These are neither "cake" brownies nor "fudge" brownies; they fall somewhere in between. If you must have one or the other, then this recipe is not for you. 2. Yes, the frosting is sweet. If you like frosting, then add it, if not, leave it off. 3. Yes, these are homemade brownies and do not taste like boxed brownie mix. I can't understand why anyone would prefer a mix to homemade, but if that's your thing, then stick with the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
These are great! I changed the recipe to make them better for you. I used 1/2 c. applesauce instead of butter and 1/2 cup Equal spoonfuls and 1/2 cup sugar instead of 1 cup sugar and used egg substitute and omitted the glaze. They ended up with only 45 calories apiece and 0 grams of fat! they were SOOOO GOOOD!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2298 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
Brownies... What comes to mind? Hard...chewy... These brownies... What comes to mind? Soft...cakelike... These were baaaaad.......why must all these brownie recipes result in cake squares? I wish I could say different for this supposedly "best brownie" recipe, but I can't. If you are looking for the traditional delicious brownie Grandma used to make, run, run away and never come back! These were just like a cake. Be aware: These are not the BEST brownies...these are the BEST cake squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bakedbyjen
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
These were the BEST BROWNIES even without the frosting. Just don't OVERBAKE/OVERMIX. When doubling, leave out one egg, keep the amount of salt at 1/4 tsp, and bake for 30-35 mins. You'll get a cakey on the outside, fudgey in the middle brownie. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
939 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Wonderful little brownie! Not too thick, not too thin, just right! Comes together and into the oven in less than 5 minutes. I added about 1 additional T. of cocoa. Just mix all ingredients with a wooden spoon in the same pan as you melted the butter, about 50 strokes, just until good and combined. The frosting is glossy and smooth if you melt the butter first and add about 1 T. each of corn syrup and half and half. Cutting these with a plastic knife, even the disposable tableware variety, works great! Cuts cleanly, and not a crumb sticks to the knife. Had to try 3 of the brownies as soon as they were cooled, just to be triply sure they were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
669 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
Worth a try, very easy recipe yielding above average brownies. When the recipe says not to overcook, don't...depending on your oven 25 minutes is probably long enough. They may not look done, but they continue to cook/settle when removed. Also, I had to add an egg to the frosting recipe because I ended up with chocolate sawdust without it (even using electric blender). Some folks also mentioned adding milk (1 Tblsp ?) because of this which would also work I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
356 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
These are the BEST!!! I never made homemade brownies before and these came out PERFECT! They're fudgy and delicious, the icing is sooooo good too! I took the advice of one reviewer and heated the icing..it was perfect! I made them for a 4th of July picnic and they were a HUGE hit! They were gone in 15 minutes. Everyone loved them and asked me for the recipe! I doubled the recipe to fit a 9X13" pan. They were GREAT! Even if you're not a very good cook, these brownies will come out delicious! I recommend them to everyone! I'll never make brownies from a box again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
299 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2000
These were the worst brownies I have ever had! The frosting was way too sweet and did'nt go well with the brownies at all. My husband hated them, and wouldn't even finish them. He told me to throw them away. Sorry, hopefully you will like them better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
265 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
MMmmmm is all I can say. I just took my first bite. They taste more like fudge than brownies. The frosting is the key. At first the frosting was crumbly, but using a fork for 3 minutes made it come up to a nice creamy consistency. Also, frosting the brownies when they are warm made for a nice finish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDOWNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 6,008) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States