Best Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Great brownie for the most part. I have a difficult time finding recipes for brownies that don't come out raw or dry. This was fairly neutral. I did, however, use Hersheys dark cocoa. We make everything 'dark' chocolate. It's a nice touch on this recipe. It does not serve 16! More like 6!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This truly a great recipe. Perfect brownies one bowl(pan) and simple. Prep time of 25 min is overstated more like 10 min. I have a convection oven, 25 minutes on convection bake is perfect. Frosting recipe should say melted butter instead of softened. As for the negative reviews which almost kept me from trying this recipe...it is not the recipe that is the problem, I have made these several times now and I can not figure out how anyone could screw them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ri2
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Loved this recipe! I do a lot of baking, but the perfect brownie recipe has always eluded me. Well, not anymore. I followed a few handy tips from other reviewers (1) avoiding using the cake mixer and made these by stirring them by hand (2) lightly beating the eggs separately before incorporating it into the batter (3) reducing the sugar to about 3/4 cup (4) not sifting the dry ingredients (5) not overcooking, and always keeping a watchful eye on them. Next time, I'd like to substitute the butter with 1/2 cup applesauce (to cut down the calories). I made these in a 9x9 square tin, but they weren't thin or cake ... the only difference was that I reduced the baking time to 15 mins (max). Thanks for sharing this recipe Angie! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
OMG!!! This was the best brownies that I have ever had. I made them (w/o the frosting) for New Year's Eve and the kiddos loved it. The very next day...we doubled the recipe and made the brownies with the frosting. Shut the front door they were amazing. Don't over mix the eggs or the batter. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hincr803

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandy
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I really like this recipe. It is very simple. I wanted to add my own personal touch to it though. I made these brownies, but instead of a typical square brownie a made brownie bites in a mini cupcake pan dusted with powdered sugar and then drizzled a semi-sweet chocolate sauce over the top. They were a hit at a dinner we were invited to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Oh my goodness, this was the best recipe never use another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
The taste was decent, but it turned out like cake NOT BROWNIES. I did use my blender, and as one reviewer commented, it should be stirred by hand to avoid adding extra air and avoiding the "cake" result. I believe this recipe should state to mix by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
This recipe works great doubled. My family will eat an 8x8 too fast. I also substituted gluten free rice flour mix for flour just fine in this recipe. Be sure to add 1/4 tsp of xantham gum for each 1/2c flour. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Busick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Great !! don't overlook !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Great recipe. I always make just half the amount for my husband and I. I butter 2 small 10oz ramekins and bake at 350 for 21 mins. I cut the sugar down to 1/3 cup (instead of 1/2 if halving the original recipe) I let them cool for 10 mins and serve with vanilla ice cream (no frosting needed!) and they come out Sightly crispy on the edges and soft, almost gooey in the center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 6,316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States