Best Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
While the end product was very good, moist and tasty, it is a pet peeve of mine when working with recipes that are written as poorly as this one is. RECIPE CORRECTIONS: First, novice bakers need to know whether to use salted or unsalted butter. I used salted butter and then later found the standard is unsalted for baking. Fortunately, it still tasted great and would probably be bland using unsalted. Second, it says 25 to 30 minutes. This is my first time baking brownies so I was unsure if the toothpick test was appropriate for them. My oven is calibrated right at 350. At 25 minutes the toothpick came out goopy, at 27 it came out clean. Third, cocoa powder should be sifted to get the lumps out. I am a former chef, not a baker and still have a lot to learn. I feel that if you are going to post a recipe you write it for the newest baker. SUGGESTIONS FOR EASIER PRODUCTION: Now about the recipe. I would suggest mixing the sugar and all the wet except the butter and mix the dry in separate bowls. Cut the butter in chunks and melt on a very low temp, then just before they are all melted pull it off the heat and stir. This melts the remaining chunks and lowers the temp so it cannot cook the eggs. Add it to the wet, mix well, then gently mix the dry in just until moistened. The ingredients get thoroughly mixed without over-mixing the final batter. I hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HillaryMorgan

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Alrighty... The brownies are currently in the oven, but since I don't have children (which is a good thing- I am 16!) I licked the spoon. Guilty as charged. The batter itself is simply amazing! Can't wait for the brownies to be done. One of my friends has a birthday, and that is a great reason for doing some baking. ?? THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This is my go-to brownie recipe. Easy, quick, and no need to make the icing. Sometimes I add chocolate chips and/or marshmallows. So yummy! Always guaranteed to be a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I LOVED this recipe! DELICIOUS.. to me. My brother told me that they were WAY too chocolatey and now he forever hates cocoa powder. I actually didn't use ENOUGH cocoa powder.. but to me, these brownies were heaven. 10 stars to me, 1 star to my brother. But everyone else loved it, so I don't think I care what he says because.. well, sometimes, brothers like to do that sorta thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I usually suck at baking brownies, but at the same time have picky eaters, these were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
The brownies didn't really have a chocolate brownie taste. And the frosting was to grainy. I would definitely suggest adding milk or less sugar to the frosting. And adding more chocolate to the brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I thought this was great! I asked my 7 year-old if he liked them. He said "I didn't like them, I LOVE them". Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nürnberg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Lodi, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
made for my sons birthday everyone love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
YUM!!!! These really are the best brownies! You can add chocolate chips to make them double chocolate brownies, which are super great --BlueberrySpice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I love this recipe! these brownies are PERFECTION
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hind Keskes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 6,164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States