Berdean's Cube Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Recipe is great..just like my mom's..I add a little garlic salt to meat and add onions/mushrooms to gravy ..I also cut my meat into smaller portions before flouring ..Like a little bigger than bite size because I have small kids and this is easier than cutting up after cooking plus the meat seems to be more tender. I like to use my electric skillet with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Very Good, i only cooked it for 1 hr. I also added mushrooms, 1 tbsn garlic and 1/2 large onion. Kids and wife enjoyed too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Very easy to make - sauteed a sliced onion, mushrooms chunks, parsley and basil flakes in olive oil then added meat to brown. Added water then (2) beef bouillon cubes. Gravy was so good with smashed potatoes and steamed broccoli. Meat was not chewy at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This was OK, about like you might get in a small town diner, but the gravy was too watery and the meat too tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
A comforting meal on a chilly fall evening. This was delicious! Cooking on a budget has lead me to some of the best recipes and cube steak can come out tough and inedible if cooked wrong. I had no leftovers. The long cook time made the steaks very tender and flavorful as well. I did however add fresh sliced mushrooms and onions to the gravy while it was cooking. At the last minute, I noticed a half of a package of button mushrooms at the bottom of the frige and needed to use them up before they went bad. (hey! waste not, want not, right?). I served it with real mashed potatoes and a side of peas and carrots. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This was good. I baked it in the oven as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Burns Harbor, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
They came out so tender and literally falling apart. NO KNIFE NEEDED! I added onions and mushrooms too, because we like them. Thanks for another great recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Wirhowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Great recipe for cube steak. After frying the steaks instead of the beef bullion I added 2 tablespoons of Lipton's Beefy Onion soup mix in a cup of water. The steaks were very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mysliwy
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Great Recipe. I used a can of crem of mushroom soup, 1.5 cans of water to make gravy. Added one red onion once the steaks were simmering in the gravy. Simmered for 2+ hours and served with mashed cauliflour and collard greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I am new to cooking and rely on receipes to inform me of what I need to know. I followed receipes to a tee and watched it very closely for the first hour and then noticed that all of the water had evaporated and still had another hour to go! I rechecked the receipe and didn't read anywhere that you would need to add water to ensure they didn't burn up but added another two cups of water anyway hoping the steaks would turn out anyway. I walked away for 15 mins knowing I had to simmer for another hour and already added double the water the receipe called for and when I came back they were burnt. Me being a starving single mother did find a couple bites to salvage and it was very salty tasting. Completely unedible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States