Berdean's Cube Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Holy lamas. Made this tonight and served it over rice and stir fry veggies for those of us that eat them. Hubby's review..."Best Ever".. I did use 4 bullion cubes and baked at 325 in my iron skillet covered for 2 hours instead of leaving it on the stove. These were fall apart, cut with a fork tender. Found my new way of making them. Freaking epic good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
First let me say- not a fan of cube steak. In the past I would make it for family and eat something else. However, this recipe made it taste pretty good. Still not a fan of the texture, but it was more tender than I have had in the past. I had no beef bouillon so just used beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I used Montreal seasoning instead of salt and pepper. I also carmalized 1 small onion before I pan fried the cube steaks. This was very good. I made mashed potatoes and peas to go along with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I baked them in the oven after frying them. 350 for 1 and 1/2 hours. Best cube steaks I have ever made! ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
The cube steaks were perfectly tender in 60 minutes I added sliced onions and used chicken Better Than Bullion because I had it. Very reminiscent of my mom's cube steak. Served with mashed potatoes and broccoli. Didn't use milk for the gravy; just added corn starch to thicken the pan juices. I think the complaints of meat turning out too dry and water boiling away can be easily corrected by turning the heat down; start checking for tenderness in an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This was amazingly good!! A keeper. This recipe transformed a tough cubed steak...(I only eat forage fed/organic meats, which although delish, are tougher than the hormone laden beef), tender & delish. A great way to tenderize a normally tougher cut of meat. I added crimini mushrooms to the gravy while it simmered. The mock mashed potatoes (cauliflower, garlic, cream)& sauteed spinach were tasty for a healthy, lower carb meal. The flour on the steaks thickened the gravy nicely. This is a simple, but very tasty meal. It smelled so good while simmering :-) Thank-you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitesboro, New York, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Professor Pancake
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
This recipe is a HUGE hit at my home. The meat is so tender you can eat it with a spoon. I just add a few onions in the last 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
WOWZERS! Did not expect this to be so good. Family DEMOLISHED it. Served it with wild rice and thickened the gravy with a little guar gum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DavidForney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Great recipe. I made it last night, awesome. Incredible that with so little ingredients it turns sooo good, so much flavor. Since I am a working mother with no time, I made it in the pressure cooker: after browning the floured steaks (as the recipe calls) I added the water (1 1/2 cup), buillon and cover it. Pressure for 15 minutes. Then placed steaks in a plate. To make the sauce I added to the pot 1/2 cup of milk, 1 tsp flour (remember there is left over flour in the pan), 1 tsp butter and pepper to taste. No salt!. Stir and let cook until the sauce thickens. Add on top of the steaks. Does not need anything else!! But if you like you can add mushrooms to the sauce. Enjoy this "working-mom-with-no-time version"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
simple and tasty ,very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States