Berdean's Cube Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
We're not big beef eaters, but I was at the butcher a few months back and saw the cube steaks in the case and got 4. Found them in the freezer last night and wondered what to do with them. Really glad I found this recipe. I floured (garlic powder, onion powder, salt & pepper in flour), browned in a few Tbsp of oil, splashed each with Worcestershire, threw in about 1/2 a sweet onion chopped, and 2 cups of boiling water with 2 beef bullion cubes. Covered on cook top for about 1 1/2 hrs on low. It was really good. The gravy wasn't that thick but had little bits of the onions and stray beef pieces and was fine over the meat and mashed potatoes. Miserably full as I type this as there are only 2 of us and no leftovers. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I have to say that this was extremely tasty!! as simply as it was I would have to say it was better than what I would have made!!! The family loved it, even my very picky eater who eats nothing except chicken!! (homemade chicken strips) so I will be sure to make this again! Thanks for sharing!!! p.s. the meat was so tender you could cut it with a fork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
This was outstanding! I cannot believe that cube steak can taste this good. I followed the recipe exactly, adding sliced mushrooms the last half hour. Keep an eye on the liquid, I used water and bouillon but you could also use canned beef broth. It was done in one and a half hours, very tender. The best cube steak I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Easy and delicious! I do add 1/4 cup of red wine and a pack of onion soup mix to the gravy but otherwise follow the recipe exactly. Very tender and the whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I tried this yesterday. It was excellent. I shall use it again. Thanks to the submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This was good. The meat was not as tender as hoped, but that could have been a bad cut, or the fact that it was not 100% thawed when I began cooking it. I used much less oil that called for--maybe 1-2 tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Be very careful with the salt and bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This is a great recipe for a low cost 'steak' meal. I hate when people rate recipes and say they changed things but I am guilty this time. I simply used beef broth instead of water and it makes the recipe out of this world! You get such a tender meaty taste. This recipe was a starting off point for me on new things I have created. I have cooked other meats in similar ways and they always turn out to be tender and delicious. This is one of those recipes you can add veggies to and it will only enhance the flavor. Its great on its own and easily customizable which is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michiganer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
We loved it. Great flavor, tender meat and so easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I have really enjoyed this recipe. Its very simple and taste great. I normally dont change the recipe but this one was just dying to have an onion added. I was so hungry I only cooked it for 1.5 hours and it was still tender enough to eat with a fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tylrbn
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Mean Mr. Mustard Steak

Grainy mustard and steak seasoning add tangy goodness to seared steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States