Berdean's Cube Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I was looking for something easy and no hassle to make, at my witts end with all the normal stuff I make for supper..this was great, prep was quick and easy, was able to leave it to cook while at one of my childrens sports functions. I used beef broth instead of water and thickened it with corn starch, I forgot about making the gravy with flour, but I will try that next time..We ate it with rice, however I think it would have been better with mashed potatoes...will make again, steak super tender and yummy..family loved!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Wonderful and very easy to make which is exactly what I need because I don't like to cook. Followed recipe exactly with no substitutions and steak was very tender. My husband and daughter both ate even though they were both skeptical. He has never eaten any cube steak I have ever made and today he went back for seconds. Will definitely make again. When I made the gravy, I took the meat out and put on plate. Then poured remaining broth into a gravy separator and drained most of the oil out before putting it back in pan. I added a little milk, corn starch, and Worcesterchire sauce and heated back up. Poured over mashed potatoes and on steak. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Hey Chris, fixed this last night for dinner. It was great! Made the gravy out of milk and served it with mashed potatoes and corn. Your mom is a great cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGQUEEN75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Never had cubed steak this tender before! Was missing a little flavor, though...will try adding onions net time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABBA21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
It turned out fork tender. The first time ever I've made cube steak fork tender. I did as some other reviewers suggested, used beef broth instead of water/bouillon and added onions. Wonderful recipe! Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Fantastic recipe, just like Mom used to make. I mix some cornstarch and water in a glass and add it to the drippings to make gravy. It doesn't dull the flavor as much as using flour does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
My family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolinagirl26

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
PERFECT!! I read all the wonderful reviews and was still somewht unconvinced that so many could be so right!! I'm a believer! This recipe will become a staple in my dinner repertoire. Followed the recipe but was wondering what to do with all the oil after frying the meat. I did take some of it out cuz it just seemed to be alot to leave in. I had some leftover beef broth from another recipe and wanted to use it up so I added that along with a sliced onion as others recommended. I also added garlic powder to the flour before dredging the meat. To the cold beef broth, however, I did add the remaining flour from dredging the meat and used the wire whisk to remove the lumps. I added this roux to the meat and onions. The smell was scrumptious and the meat was amazingly tender. The onion gravy was fabulous. I have already forwarded this recipe to my sisters! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockhart, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I cooked this last night and my family loved it....I wished I would have doubled the recipe :) so we could have had 2nds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanieG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
My son raved about this steak! He is my toughest critic and ate it all! Great and easy recipe. I used beef stock instead of cubes and water, but still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Mean Mr. Mustard Steak

Grainy mustard and steak seasoning add tangy goodness to seared steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States