Berdean's Cube Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I am so glad I finally came across this recipe again! Made it a few times & absolutely love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MlssCue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I made this for dinner and my kids, one of which is very picky, loved it. She even went back for seconds! Will definitely make this again. I used beef broth instead of water. As the meat cooked, the gravy seemed to cook away, so I just added more beef broth and about 2-3 more tsp of flour and mixed it up in the cooker. I moved it to a smaller burned and turned on low. This did the trick. I ended up using 32oz of beef broth. My picky one even asked for more gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This was so easy to make, and the meat was so tender. I substituted the beef boullion with beefy onion soup mix because that was what I had available. Also, after browning the meat I added a chopped onion and sauteed it until it was translucent. I then added the beefy onion soup mix with 2 cups of water. Stirred it to loosen what was on the bottom of the pan. Then I added 2 tablespoons of flour to thicken it and a can of Golden Mushroom soup...not diluted. Stirred until completely mixed, then poured over the meat. I cooked egg noodles rather than potatoes. My husband loved it! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
It was really good. I did this recipe healthier. I used deer meat instead of cow and olive oil instead of vegetable oil and gluten free bis quick instead of all purpose flour and they turned out super good. Recommend to everyone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Reeb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
It was so delicious, my family loved it. I added a little cayenne pepper for a small kick....soooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juanita Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Tasted more like fried chicken than steak, but it was enjoyable. My husband hates steak (except for filet mignon) because he hates having to chew each bite 100 times, but he was happy with this steak. I didn't have bouillan cubes, so we used a beef ramen noodle flavor packet. I gave 4 stars instead of 5 because I didn't care much for the fried chicken flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I tried this recipe as written first time. It was good but..I didn't like how the coating became soft/gummy after simmering. So now, I season up the cube steaks & sear on both sides in a bit of bacon drippings. Then I add beef broth (with 1 T cornstarch mixed in)and thin sliced onions. Cover & bake 2 hours at 325. Works great! Tender and tasty. Inexpensive dinner I did not consider for years as I disliked cube steaks I used to just flour/fry and try to eat. Nice idea although I do this a bit differently then written. Great start though, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I cooked this exactly as instructed. I just added yellow peppers for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Armywife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
The cube steak fell apart before I could even flour it. It looked more like hamburger meat than cube "steak". A ring of oil lingered in the frying pan so I ended up straining the liquid after this was done cooking. It tasted OK, a little plain. Not a huge fan this time but I will try making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Wow. What a simple easy recipe. The only changes I made were that I didn't add salt, and I used cyan pepper and red pepper flakes and added a slice onion when I added the water. Next time I would brown the meat and before adding the water I would remove most if not all of the oil, otherwise this was fork tender and the gravy was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Morris

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Mean Mr. Mustard Steak

Grainy mustard and steak seasoning add tangy goodness to seared steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States