Berdean's Cube Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This is very good! The steak was very tender. Instead of cooking it on the stovetop, after browning on both sides in an ovenproof pan, I baked (covered with foil) them for 2 hours at 325 degrees. Very tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
519 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I was so surprised at how good (and easy)this recipe was! I've always dredged cube steak in flour, salt and pepper and pan fried. This made the meat much more tender and the gravy on mashed potatoes was awesome. Served with fresh green beans and corn for a wonderful meal, enjoyed by both hubby and 9 year old son. Oh, I did add onion and mushrooms to gravy just because I love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
328 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I was the hero of the night with this simple recipe. The only change I made was adding one big onion cut in rings. The steaks were so tender you could cut them with the fork and the gravy was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Inexpensive way to make a cheap cut of meat very tasty and tender. I have a similar recipe "smothered steak" which is more complicated and calls for cream soups, but I preferred the ease of this one. I did add thinly sliced white onion on top of the steaks as they simmered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I grew up with my mom making this recipe all the time. Only thing different is that she added about 5 whole allspice while the steaks were simmering, removing them before making the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huron, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I was a little skeptical of this recipe due to the short ingredient list, but it was great! The steak was tender and had a great flavor. I didn't have any bouillon, so I just skipped the water and used beef broth. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Excellent! I've made cubed steak a thousand times but following this recipe and simmering for a couple hours turned this into a family fave! It was extremely tender and the gravy was delicious over rice. I couldn't believe the amount of raves I got throughout the meal ~ Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I added diced onions and jalapenos to the pan for the last hour. They practically melted into the gravy and gave it an extra kick. Great use for cube steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
This was the best cube steak I have ever had!! (And I am not a big fan of cube steak!) I baked mine in the oven as suggested by someone else, but other than that I didn't make any other big changes. I did have to drain the oil and add some more water and cornstarch to get enough gravy for everyone's steak and mashed potatoes. GREAT RECIPE!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I was so surprised at how good (and easy)this recipe was! I've always dredged cube steak in flour, salt and pepper and pan fried. This made the meat much more tender and the gravy on mashed potatoes was awesome. Served with fresh green beans and corn for a wonderful meal, enjoyed by both hubby and 9 year old son. Oh, I did add onion and mushrooms to gravy just because I love them. Somehow I ended up with two profiles on here, so I'm trying to get all my reviews on the right profile. Sorry for dup post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Brantley Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branford, Florida, USA
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States