Berdean's Cube Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This is very good! The steak was very tender. Instead of cooking it on the stovetop, after browning on both sides in an ovenproof pan, I baked (covered with foil) them for 2 hours at 325 degrees. Very tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
506 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I was so surprised at how good (and easy)this recipe was! I've always dredged cube steak in flour, salt and pepper and pan fried. This made the meat much more tender and the gravy on mashed potatoes was awesome. Served with fresh green beans and corn for a wonderful meal, enjoyed by both hubby and 9 year old son. Oh, I did add onion and mushrooms to gravy just because I love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
322 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I was a little skeptical of this recipe due to the short ingredient list, but it was great! The steak was tender and had a great flavor. I didn't have any bouillon, so I just skipped the water and used beef broth. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
218 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I was the hero of the night with this simple recipe. The only change I made was adding one big onion cut in rings. The steaks were so tender you could cut them with the fork and the gravy was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This was the best Cube Steak, that I have EVER HAD. I used a can of mushrooms on top and let it all simmer for 2 hours. THANKS FOR SHARING. THIS IS EXCELLENT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Awesome! I added a little garlic powder to the flour and browned in the pan. Then I put them in the crock pot with some beef broth and chopped onion and minced garlic. it made good gravy too (just added a little milk and flour). Cooked on low for 4 hours or so
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Excellent! I've made cubed steak a thousand times but following this recipe and simmering for a couple hours turned this into a family fave! It was extremely tender and the gravy was delicious over rice. I couldn't believe the amount of raves I got throughout the meal ~ Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I grew up with my mom making this recipe all the time. Only thing different is that she added about 5 whole allspice while the steaks were simmering, removing them before making the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huron, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Inexpensive way to make a cheap cut of meat very tasty and tender. I have a similar recipe "smothered steak" which is more complicated and calls for cream soups, but I preferred the ease of this one. I did add thinly sliced white onion on top of the steaks as they simmered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Excellent! The picture doesn't look too appetizing, but I tried it anyway, and am I glad I did! These turned out tender, not chewy, and the gravy made from the drippings was some of the best I've ever had.. Seriously! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: California, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States