Berdean's Cube Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
They came out so tender and literally falling apart. NO KNIFE NEEDED! I added onions and mushrooms too, because we like them. Thanks for another great recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Wirhowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Great recipe for cube steak. After frying the steaks instead of the beef bullion I added 2 tablespoons of Lipton's Beefy Onion soup mix in a cup of water. The steaks were very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mysliwy
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Great Recipe. I used a can of crem of mushroom soup, 1.5 cans of water to make gravy. Added one red onion once the steaks were simmering in the gravy. Simmered for 2+ hours and served with mashed cauliflour and collard greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I am new to cooking and rely on receipes to inform me of what I need to know. I followed receipes to a tee and watched it very closely for the first hour and then noticed that all of the water had evaporated and still had another hour to go! I rechecked the receipe and didn't read anywhere that you would need to add water to ensure they didn't burn up but added another two cups of water anyway hoping the steaks would turn out anyway. I walked away for 15 mins knowing I had to simmer for another hour and already added double the water the receipe called for and when I came back they were burnt. Me being a starving single mother did find a couple bites to salvage and it was very salty tasting. Completely unedible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I made this tonight for tomorrow's dinner, but I found it also a little bland as some have said because I wasn't sure how it was going to turn out following the recipe. I understand that everyone has their specific tastes and if you want flavorful meat, you have to add your own spices, so along with the onions, I added a tiny bit more salt, pepper, montreal steak seasoning, garlic and onion powder to the beef broth, stuck it back in the oven at 325 for 45 mins more, and I say it's pretty tasty now (at least to me). Hope my family enjoys it, but I will def make again with all the seasonings from the beginning to see if that makes a difference. And yes it is VERY tender. Happy cooking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Babylon, New York, USA
Living In: Wyandanch, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
This is my husband's favorite meal (and I make a lot of different ones!). He's always asking when we're going to have the cube steak. I even put in a special request through our meat CSA so I get cube steak on a regular rotation just so I can make this! The only thing I do different is after browning the meat, take it out and add a sliced onion for about 5 minutes. (It picks up any yummy brown bits while cooking too!) Take the onion out, add the meat and broth, then pile the onions on top and let it cook. We're having it for dinner again tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Healdsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Have made this several times over the past year. Simple and tasty. Great for the dinner rotation. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
This recipe was delicious! I've made cube steak before and always had trouble getting it nice and tender. Cooking the steak longer after frying it definitely makes it juicy and tender. The only changes I made was adding garlic powder and cooking on low for only 1.5 hours. I also added a tablespoon of cornstarch to the leftover juice to thicken it up and make gravy. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jfalke
Home Town: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Following the suggestion of others I browned and then baked at 325 for 1.5 hrs. To coat I used a double dip method of egg, then seasoned flour and repeat. To make sure I had enough liquid I created a thin gravey in the pan I browned the meat, poured it over the browned meat then I added more water to the baking dish during the last 1/2 hour. Huge success the meat eaters in the house loved it. Thank you this was a great find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShelliB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I love this recipe fairly easy to make and the finish product just melts in your mouth. My family loves this recipe, I add a packet of dry onion soup. Deffinitly a recipe I will make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Mean Mr. Mustard Steak

Grainy mustard and steak seasoning add tangy goodness to seared steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States